Countries Who Have Never Won A Winter Olympic Medal

Flags of participating countries on display at Calgary Olympic Park. Calgary hosted the Winter Olympics in 1988.

The first Winter Olympics was held between January 25 and February 5, 1924, in Chamonix, France. On January 26th, the first Winter Olympics gold medal was won by Charles Jewtraw of the US. France failed to win a gold medal in the Olympics but managed to accumulate three bronze medals. The first Winter Olympics involved 258 participants from 16 states competing in 9 disciplines.

The XXIII Olympic Winter Games were held in Pyeongchang County, South Korea between February 8-25, 2018. 92 countries presented 2,920 participants competing in 102 events in 15 sports. The next winter Olympics is set to take place in Beijing, China in 2022. All states seeking to attend the Olympic games must be members of the National Olympic Committee. To date, there are 206 countries who can actively participate in the Olympics. One hundred and nineteen countries have participated in the Winter Olympics since it was established, while 90 of the 206 countries are yet to field participants.

Countries Who Have Never Won a Winter Olympic Medal

Despite the ever-increasing number of countries participating in the Winter Olympics, slightly more than half have won an Olympic medal. Cameroon, Colombia, Egypt, Ghana, Guatemala, Paraguay, Serbia and Montenegro, Togo, Tonga, Uruguay, and Zimbabwe have all participated in a single Winter Olympic without winning a medal. Countries that have participated in two Winter Olympics without winning a medal include Ethiopia, Montenegro, Netherlands Antilles, Pakistan, Peru, and Serbia. Algeria, Fiji, Kenya, Thailand, and Trinidad and Tobago have all competed in three Winter Olympic without finishing on the podium. Hong Kong, Philippines, Tajikistan, and Venezuela have registered four participations without a medal. Senegal, Macedonia, and Azerbaijan have participated in five Winter Olympic games without any of their contestants finishing in the podium position. Notably, South Africa has never won a Winter Olympics medal despite participating in six Winter Olympic Games.

Other countries who have unsuccessfully competed in six Winter Olympic games are Armenia, Costa Rica, Georgia, Ireland, Israel, Kyrgyzstan, Morocco, Moldova, and Puerto Rico. Bermuda, Brazil, Jamaica, Portugal, and the Virgin Islands are all seven times unsuccessful participants. Lithuania and Mexico have participated eight times without winning either a gold, silver or bronze medal. India has been unsuccessful nine times, while Iran and Cyprus have not won a medal after making ten appearances. Chinese Taipei has participated unsuccessfully eleven times while Mongolia has done so thirteen times. Chile, Lebanon, and Turkey are sixteen times unsuccessful participants while Iceland has taken part in 17 Winter Olympics. Argentina and Greece set the record for 18 participations without finishing in a podium position.

The most successful countries in the Winter Olympics

As at 2014, Norway held the largest number of medal (329) won in the Winter Olympics since 1924. The United States ranked second with 282 while Germany ranked third with 228. Austria ranked fourth with 218 while the Soviet Union accumulated 194 medals. Canada, Finland, and Sweden ranked sixth, seventh, and eighth respectively.

Countries Who Have Never Won A Winter Olympic Medal

Rank´╗┐Country# of Winter GamesGold MedalsSilver MedalsBronze MedalsTotal Medals
1 Cameroon (CMR)10000
2 Colombia (COL)10000
3 Egypt (EGY)10000
4 Ghana (GHA)10000
5 Guatemala (GUA)10000
6 Paraguay (PAR)10000
7 Serbia and Montenegro (SCG)10000
8 Togo (TOG)10000
9 Tonga (TGA)10000
10 Uruguay (URU)10000
11 Zimbabwe (ZIM)10000
12 Ethiopia (ETH)20000
13 Montenegro (MNE)20000
14 Netherlands Antilles (AHO)20000
15 Pakistan (PAK)20000
16 Peru (PER)20000
17 Serbia (SRB)20000
18 Algeria (ALG)30000
19 Fiji (FIJ)30000
20 Kenya (KEN)30000
21 Thailand (THA)30000
22 Trinidad and Tobago (TRI)30000
23 Hong Kong (HKG)40000
24 Philippines (PHI)40000
25 Tajikistan (TJK)40000
26 Venezuela (VEN)40000
27 Azerbaijan (AZE)50000
28 Macedonia (MKD)50000
29 Senegal (SEN)50000
30 Armenia (ARM)60000
31 Costa Rica (CRC)60000
32 Georgia (GEO)60000
33 Ireland (IRL)60000
34 Israel (ISR)60000
35 Kyrgyzstan (KGZ)60000
36 Moldova (MDA)60000
37 Morocco (MAR)60000
38 Puerto Rico (PUR)60000
39 South Africa (RSA)60000
40 Bermuda (BER)70000
41 Brazil (BRA)70000
42 Jamaica (JAM)70000
43 Portugal (POR)70000
44 Virgin Islands (ISV)70000
45 Lithuania (LTU)80000
46 Mexico (MEX)80000
47 India (IND)90000
48 Cyprus (CYP)100000
49 Iran (IRI)100000
50 Chinese Taipei (TPE)110000
51 Mongolia (MGL)130000
52 Chile (CHI)160000
53 Lebanon (LIB)160000
54 Turkey (TUR)160000
55 Iceland (ISL)170000
56 Argentina (ARG)180000
57 Greece (GRE)180000

More in World Facts