1. Home
  2. South America
  3. Peru

Maps of Peru

Physical Map of Peru showing relief, mountains, major rivers, Lake Titicaca, important cities, neighbouring countries, etc.

Covering an area of 1,285,216 sq.km (496,225 sq mi), Peru, located in Western South America, is the world’s 19th largest country and South America's 3rd largest country.

As observed on the physical map of Peru above, the rugged Andes Mountains cover almost 40% of Peru. Hundreds of snow-capped peaks jut skyward here, with many exceeding 20,000 ft.

The country’s highest peak – Mount Huascaran at 22,205ft (6,768 m) [as marked on the map as an upright yellow triangle], is situated in the Cordillera Blanca range of the western Andes. Fronting the Andes – from Ecuador to Chile, in the west, there's an arid and rocky narrow coastline; in essence, it's a sandy mountainous desert dissected by dozens of small rivers that flow into the Pacific.

To the east, the Andean Highlands slope gently down into the rivers and jungles of the Amazon. The tropical Amazon basin - a heavily forested, relatively flat area, occupying about three-fifths of Peru and stretching to its borders with Brazil and Chile. The lowest part of Peru is in the far northeast; here the fertile land and jungles are irrigated by tributaries of the massive Amazon River. The giant Amazon River- the longest river in the world, flows through 75% of the territory of Peru. And speaking of rivers, Peru is drained by many, including the Apurimac, Maranon, Napo and Ucayali - to name but a few.

It is to be noted that Peru shares control of Lake Titicaca – the world’s highest navigable lake, with the neighbouring country of Bolivia.  

Regions of Peru Map

Peru (officially, the Republic of Peru) is divided into 25 regions (regiones, singular - region) and 1 province (provincia). In alphabetical order, the regions are: Amazonas, Ancash, Apurimac, Arequipa, Ayacucho, Cajamarca, Callao, Cusco, Huancavelica, Huanuco, Ica, Junin, La Libertad, Lambayeque, Lima, Loreto, Madre de Dios, Moquegua, Pasco, Piura, Puno, San Martin, Tacna, Tumbes and Ucayali. Lima is the province in Peru. The regions are further subdivided into a total of 196 provinces (provincies) and 1,869 districts (distritos). [Note: Callao, the largest port in Peru, is also referred to as a constitutional province, the only province of the Callao region]. 

Covering an area of 1,285,216 sq.km , Peru is South America's 3rd largest country and the 19th largest country in the world. Located on the coast of the Pacific Ocean is, Lima - the capital, the largest and the most populous city of Peru. Lima is also the 4th largest city in South America and the 2nd largest city in the Americas. It is the administrative, cultural, educational, commercial and economic hub of the nation.

Where is Peru?

Map showing location of Peru in the world.

Peru is a nation located on the western coast of South America. It is situated just to the south of the Equator and is geographically positioned both in the western and southern hemispheres of the Earth. Peru is bordered by Colombia and Ecuador to the north; by Brazil to the east; by Bolivia to the southeast and by Chile to the south. It is also bounded by the South Pacific Ocean to the west.

Peru Bordering Countries: Bolivia, Ecuador, Chile, Brazil, Colombia.

Regional Maps: Map of South America

Outline Map of Peru

The above blank map represents Peru - a country located in Western South America. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities.

The above outline map represents Peru, a country located in Western South America. Peru is known for its diverse landscapes and wildlife.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Peru
Flag of Peru
Capital City Lima
12 03 S, 77 03 W
Total Area 1,285,216.00 km2
Land Area 1,279,996.00 km2
Water Area 5,220.00 km2
Population 32,510,453
Major Cities
  1. Lima (10,719,188)
  2. Arequipa (922,999)
  3. Trujillo (864,633)
  4. Chiclayo (637,255)
  5. Piura (474,358)
  6. Cusco (470,720)
  7. Iquitos (469,582)
  8. Chimbote (388,978)
  9. Huancayo (386,366)
  10. Tacna (320,453)
Currency Nuevo sol (PEN)
GDP $226.85 Billion
GDP Per Capita $6,977.70

This page was last updated on February 25, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas