1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Algeria

Maps of Algeria

Mediterranean Sea Spain Portugal Atlantic Ocean Morocco Western Sahara Mali Algeria Libya Tunisia worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Sahara Desert Atlas Mountains

The map illustrates Algeria's landscape which consists mostly of high plateaus and the Sahara Desert.

The Atlas mountains sit to the north, and the Ahaggar Massif is southeast. The high plateaus stretch for more than 372 miles (600 km) and consist of undulating, steppe-like plains averaging 3,608 - 4,265 ft (1,100 - 1,300 m) and dropping to 1,312 ft (400 m) as you move east. The highest point of the country is Mt. Tahat at 9,850 ft. (3,003 m); the lowest point is Lake Chott Melrhir at -131 ft. (-40 m). Lake Chott Melrhir is an endorheic (closed basin) salt lake whose size varies throughout the year, yet is the largest lake in Algeria with its maximum area about 2,600 sq. miles (6,700 sq km). To the north is a hilly and narrow coastal plain along the Mediterranean Sea with a few small rivers. 

Provinces Map of Algeria

Algeria has 58 wilayas (provinces) :

Prior to December, 2019: Adrar, Aïn Defla, Ain Temouchent, Algiers, Annaba, Batna, Bechar, Bejaia, Biskra, Blida, Bordj Bou Arreridj, Bouira, Boumerdes, Chlef, Constantine, Djelfa, El Bayadh, El Oued, El Tarf, Ghardaia, Guelma, Illizi, Jijel, Khenchela, Laghouat, Mascara, Medea, Mila, Mostaganem, M'Sila, Naama, Oran, Ouargla, Oum el Bouaghi, Relizane, Saida, Setif, Sidi Bel Abbes, Skikda, Souk Ahras, Tamanghasset, Tebessa, Tiaret, Tindouf, Tipaza, Tissemsilt, Tizi Ouzou, Tlemcen.

Ten new provinces were added  as of December 2019 : Timimoune, Bordj Badji Mokhtar, Ouled Djellal, Beni Abbes, In Salah, In Guezzam, Touggourt, Djanet, El-Meghaier and El-Menia.

With an area of 336,839 sq. km, Tamanghasset is the largest province. Algiers is the most populous one and hosts the national capital of Algiers.

Where is Algeria?

Map showing location of Algeria in the world. Europe Middle East Africa South Africa Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer

Algeria is a country located in the Maghreb region of North Africa. It is located in the Northern Hemisphere. As the Prime Meridian passes through the country, it has territory in both the Eastern and Western Hemispheres. Algeria is bordered by seven countries. These are Tunisia, Libya, and Niger to the northeast, east, and southeast respectively. Mali, Mauritania, and Western Sahara lie to the southwest. Morocco borders Algeria to the west. The country also has a coastline on the Mediterranean Sea to the north.  

Algeria Bordering Countries: Libya, Morocco, Tunisia, Mali, The Niger, Western Sahara, Mauritania.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Algeria

This outline map shows the entire country of Algeria. The country is located in North Africa's Maghreb region.

Blank outline map of Algeria. Can be used for coloring. Free download and print out for educational, school, or classroom use.

Key Facts

Legal Name People's Democratic Republic of Algeria
Flag of Algeria
Capital City Algiers
36 45 N, 3 03 E
Total Area 2,381,740.00 km2
Land Area 2,381,740.00 km2
Water Area N/A
Population 43,053,055
Major Cities
  1. El Djazaïr (Algiers) (2,901,810)
  2. Wahran (Oran) (935,947)
  3. El Djelfa (570,543)
  4. Blida (511,672)
  5. Qacentina (417,768)
  6. Annaba (368,782)
  7. Batna (346,016)
  8. Sétif (331,801)
Currency Algerian dinars (DZD)
GDP $169.99 Billion
GDP Per Capita $3,948.34

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas