1. Home
  2. Asia
  3. Kyrgyzstan

Maps of Kyrgyzstan

Physical Map of Kyrgyzstan showing relief, highest point and lowest points, major mountain ranges, rivers, important urban centres, etc.

Kyrgyzstan, a landlocked country, covers an area of 199,951 sq. km in Central Asia. 

As observed on the map above, over 90% of Kyrgyzstan is dominated by massive, rugged mountain ranges, including the Alai, Kirghiz, and Tien Shan, and their associated valleys and basins. Large areas of those mountain regions are covered by glaciers.

A few flat areas (lower valleys) are found in the north and far southwest, but almost 35% of the land is higher than 9,842 ft. (3,000 m) above sea level.

Kyrgyzstan's highest point (marked on the map by a yellow upright triangle) is Jengish Chokusu which peaks at 24,406 ft. (7,439 m).

Dozens and dozens of rivers flow from the upper reaches of the mountains; the most significant ones include the Al-Say, Chu, Kara Darya, and Naryn. Issyk-Kul is the world's second-largest alpine lake.

The Kara Darya River has the lowest point of Kyrgyzstan at 132 m (433 ft) above sea level.

Regions of Kyrgyzstan Map

Political Map of Kyrgyzstan showing the 7 regions, their capital cities, and the national capital of Bishkek.

Kyrgyzstan (officially, The Kyrgyz Republic) is a sovereign country divided into 7 administrative regions (sing. oblast; plur. oblasttar) and two independent cities (shaar). In alphabetical order, the regions are: Batken, Chuy, Issyk-kul, Jalal-Abad, Naryn, Osh and Talas. Bishkek city and Osh city are the two independent cities. Each region is further subdivided into districts (raion). 

Bishkek, the capital and largest city of Kyrgyzstan, is located in the northern part of the country. The ancient city of Osh, located in the Fergana Valley is the second largest city of Kyrgyzstan. 

Where is Kyrgyzstan?

Map showing location of Kyrgyzstan in the world. arctic ocean pacific ocean indian ocean australia oceania tropic of capricorn tropic of cancer arctic circle equator africa europe black sea caspian aral sea red sea gulf of aden bay of bengal arabian sea middle east mediterranean sea asia

Kyrgyzstan is a landlocked mountainous country in Central Asia. It is located in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. It is bordered by four nations; Kazakhstan in the north, Uzbekistan in the west and southwest, Tajikistan in the southwest and China in the east. Kyrgyzstan is occasionally referred as “the Switzerland of Central Asia” as the beautiful ‘Tian Shan Mountains’ covers major part of the country. 

Kyrgyzstan Bordering Countries: Kazakhstan, China, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan.

Regional Maps: Map of Asia

Outline Map of Kyrgyzstan

Blank Outline Map of Kyrgyzstan

The outline map above represents Kyrgyzstan. The country is located in Central Asia. The map maybe downloaded, printed, and used for map-pointing or coloring activities.

Outline Map of Kyrgyzstan

The outline map above represents the Central Asia country of Kyrgyzstan. It is a landlocked and highly mountainous country.

Key Facts

Legal Name Kyrgyz Republic
Capital City Bishkek
42 52 N, 74 36 E
Independence 31 August 1991 (from the Soviet Union)


Total Area 199,951.00 km2
Land Area 191,801.00 km2
Water Area 8,150.00 km2
Total Border 4,573.0 km
Coastline 0.0 km
Bordering Countries China 1063 km, Kazakhstan 1212 km, Tajikistan 984 km, Uzbekistan 1314 km
Climate Dry continental to polar in high tien shan mountains; subtropical in southwest (fergana valley); temperate in northern foothill zone
Coordinates 41 00 N, 75 00 E
Mean Elevation 2,988 m
Lowest Elevation 132 m
Kara-Daryya (Karadar'ya)
Highest Elevation 7,439 m
Jengish Chokusu (Pik Pobedy)


Population 6,456,900
Largest City

Bishkek (1,038,429)

Ethnic Groups Kyrgyz 73.5%, Uzbek 14.7%, Russian 5.5%, Dungan 1.1%, other 5.2% (includes Uyghur, Tajik, Turk, Kazakh, Tatar, Ukrainian, Korean, German) (2019 est.)
Languages Kyrgyz (official) 71.4%, Uzbek 14.4%, Russian (official) 9%, other 5.2% (2009 est.)
Religions Muslim 90% (majority Sunni), Christian 7% (Russian Orthodox 3%), other 3% (includes Jewish, Buddhist, Baha'i) (2017 est.)


Currency soms (KGS)
GDP $8.45 Billion
GDP Per Capita $1,309.39
Exports Gold, cotton, wool, garments, meat; mercury, uranium, electricity; machinery; shoes

This page was last updated on November 9, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas