1. Home
  2. South America
  3. Argentina

Maps of Argentina

Physical Map of Argentina showing relief, Patagonia and Pampas regions, rivers, mountains ranges, Cape Horn, major lakes, important cities, and more. aconcagua

Argentina is a country located in the southern part of South America. Covering an area of 2,780,400 sq.km (1,073,500 sq mi), Argentina is the world's 8th largest country, the 2nd largest country in South America, and the 4th largest country in the Americas. The geography of Argentina include 5 major regions, starting with the rainforest area of the far-northeast along its border with Brazil; the swampy and flat Chaco plain; the fertile (almost treeless) grasslands of the Central Pampas; the lengthy plateau of Patagonia that stretches to Tierra del Fuego; and the Andes Mountains along its western border with Chile. 

As observed on the physical map of Argentina above, the Pampas, one of the largest fertile plains in the world, covers almost one-third of Argentina's land area.

Bordered by mountains and the Atlantic Ocean, the legendary landscape of Patagonia displays huge forests, sizeable mountains, valleys, and many cold-water lakes. The Andes Mountains in Argentina contain advancing glaciers including the Perito Moreno glacier, as well as "Cerro Aconcagua" - at 22,831ft (6,959m) is the tallest mountain in South America and in the Southern and Western hemispheres [as marked on the map as a yellow upright triangle]. The lowest point in Argentina as well as the Southern and Western hemispheres is Laguna del Carbon at -344ft (-105m), below the sea level. An inverted yellow triangle marks this extreme point on the physical map.

Argentina is also home to impressive Iguazu Falls, and over 250 additional waterfalls of size. Major rivers include the Colorado, Negro, Paraguay, Parana, Salado and Uruguay. The Uruguay and Parana flow together before meeting the Atlantic Ocean forming the basin of the Rio de la Plata.

Provinces of Argentina Map

Argentina (officially, the Argentine Republic) is administratively divided into 23 provinces (provincias, sing. provincia) and 1 autonomous city. In alphabetical order, the provinces are: Buenos Aires, Catamarca, Chaco, Chubut, Cordoba, Corrientes, Entre Rios, Formosa, Jujuy, La Pampa, La Rioja, Mendoza, Misiones, Neuquen, Rio Negro, Salta, San Juan, San Luis, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe, Santiago del Estero, Tierra del Fuego - Antartida e Islas del Atlantico Sur (Tierra del Fuego - Antarctica and the South Atlantic Islands) and Tucuman. Ciudad Autonoma de Buenos Aires is an autonomous city of Argentina. These provinces are further subdivided into 378 departments and municipalities. The Buenos Aires province is subdivided into 135 partidos; while the autonomous city of Buenos Aires is subdivided into 15 communes. 

Covering an area of 2,780,400 sq. km, Argentina is the 8th largest country in the world and the 2nd largest country in South America. It is also the 4th largest country in America and the largest Spanish-speaking country. Located along the western shore of Rio de La Plata estuary, on the southeastern shore of South America is, Buenos Aires - the national capital, the largest and the most populous city of Argentina. It is also the 4th largest city in the Western hemisphere and one of the most important ports in Latin America. Buenos Aires is the administrative, cultural, technological, industrial and commercial center of Argentina.

Where is Argentina?

Map showing location of Argentina in the world.

Argentina is a large country occupying the southern part of South America. It is positioned in the Western and Southern hemispheres of the Earth. Argentina shares it's borders with 5 countries: with Chile and the Andes Mountain Range to the west; with Bolivia to the northwest; with Paraguay to the north; with Brazil to the northeast and with Uruguay to the east. It is also bounded by the South Atlantic Ocean to the east and the Drake Passage to the south.

Argentina Bordering Countries: Bolivia, Paraguay, Chile, Uruguay, Brazil.

Regional Maps: Map of South America

Outline Map of Argentina

The above blank map represents Argentina, a country located in southern South America. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities.

The above outline map represents Argentina, a country located in southern South America. The country is in the shape of an inverted triangle with its base at the top.

Key Facts

Legal Name Argentine Republic
Flag of Argentina
Capital City Buenos Aires
34 36 S, 58 22 W
Total Area 2,780,400.00 km2
Land Area 2,736,690.00 km2
Water Area 43,710.00 km2
Population 44,938,712
Major Cities
  1. Buenos Aires (15,153,729)
  2. Córdoba (1,571,944)
  3. Rosario (1,532,128)
  4. Mendoza (1,172,619)
  5. San Miguel de Tucumán (985,656)
  6. La Plata (884,054)
  7. Salta (684,751)
  8. Mar Del Plata (665,707)
  9. Santa Fe (562,917)
  10. San Juan (536,913)
Currency Argentine pesos (ARS)
GDP $449.66 Billion
GDP Per Capita $10,006.15

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas