1. Home
  2. Europe
  3. Serbia

Maps of Serbia

Serbia, a landlocked country located in the Balkan Peninsula's central region. Including the disputed territory of Kosovo, Serbia's area is 88,361 km2(34,116 sq mi). However, excluding Kosovo, Serbia has an area of 77,474 km2(29,913 sq mi).

As observed on the physical map of Serbia, the rugged mountains, hills and valleys of the Dinaric Alps slice through Serbia west of the Morava River, while the toothy-edged Balkan Mountains form its natural borders with Bulgaria and Romania.

The highest point in Serbia is Deravica on Prokletije rising to 8,713 ft. (2,656 m) in the region of Kosovo. A yellow triangle marks its position on the map.

A fertile river floodplain (the Pannonian) stretches from Belgrade north to the borders with Croatia, Hungary, and Romania.

Natural lakes in Serbia are rare as a result of the rugged terrain, and the ones that do exist -such as the glacial lake Palic- are mostly located in Vojvodina.

Serbia's largest artificial lake, resulting from a hydroelectric dam, is Derdap located on the Danube.

Significant rivers include the Danube, Drina, Lim, Morava, Sava and Tara. The lowest point in the country is at the Timok River mouth at 28 m.

Districts of Serbia Map

Serbia (officially, Republic of Serbia) is divided into 29 districts. In alphabetical order, the districts are: Bor, Braniceva, Central Banat, Jablanica, Kolubara, Kosovo, Kosovska Mitrovica, Kosovo-Pomoravlje, Macva, Moravica, North Backa, North Banat, Nisava, Pcinja, Pec, Pirot, Podunavlje, Pomoravlje, Prizren, Rasina, Raska, South Backa, South Banat, Srem, Sumadija, Toplica, West Backa, Zajecar and Zlatibor. The capital city of Belgrade constitutes an additional district. Serbia is also divided into 145 municipalities (opstine, singular - opstina) and 29 cities (gradovi, singular - grad).

Located in north-central part of the county, at the confluence of Danube and Sava Rivers is, Belgrade – the capital and the largest city of Serbia. Belgrade is the administrative, cultural, industrial and commercial center of the country. It is also the economical, communications and transportation hub of Serbia.

Where is Serbia?

Map showing location of Serbia in the world.

Serbia is a landlocked country located in the central part of the Balkan Peninsula in South Eastern Europe. It is positioned both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Serbia is bordered by 8 Nations: by Romania in the northeast; Hungary in the north; North Macedonia in the south; Bulgaria in the southeast; Montenegro in the southwest; and Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina in the west.

Serbia Bordering Countries: Macedonia, Montenegro, Hungary, Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia, Bosnia And Herzegovina.

Regional Maps: Map of Europe

Outline Map of Serbia

The blank outline map is of the territory of the sovereign European nation of Serbia. The map can be downloaded, printed, and used for coloring or geography education.

The above map represents Serbia, a Southeast European country in the Balkan Peninsula. Serbia is a landlocked country.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Serbia
Flag of Serbia
Capital City Belgrade (Beograd)
44 50 N, 20 30 E
Total Area 77,474.00 km2
Land Area 77,474.00 km2
Water Area N/A
Population 6,944,975
Largest City

Beograd (Belgrade) (1,408,144)

Currency Serbian dinars (RSD)
GDP $51.41 Billion
GDP Per Capita $7,402.35

This page was last updated on February 25, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas