1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Morocco

Maps of Morocco

Physical Map of Morocco with state boundaries, major rivers, deserts, highest peak, important cities, and more.

Morocco is a country in the Maghreb Region of North Africa where it covers an area of 710,850 sq. km. 

Much of Morocco's landscape is mountainous with slopes that gradually transition into plateaus and valleys. As observed on the physical map above, the Atlas mountains dominate the central part of the country, while the Rif mountains make up the northern edge.

Jebel Toubkal (marked on the map by a yellow upright triangle) is the highest point of Morocco at 13,664 ft (4,165 m), and is also the highest peak of the Atlas mountains.

The southeastern region of the country is blanketed by the Sahara Desert, the world's third largest desert at over 3,600,000 square miles (9,400,000 sq. km).

Land degradation is a large issue for Morocco, and many other countries located within the Sahara, as overgrazing of livestock and destruction of vegetation has eroded the soil.

Significant sources of water of Morocco include the Moulouya River, whose source is located in the Atlas Mountains, and flows into the Mediterranean Sea.

The lowest point of the country is Sebkha Tah at -180 ft (-55 m).

Regions of Morocco Map

Political Map of Morocco displaying the administrative regions, their capitals including the national capital of Casablanca.

Morocco has 12 administrative divisions called regions. Of these, the Dakhla-Oued Ed-Dahab region lies entirely in the disputed territory of Western Sahara. Two regions, the Laâyoune-Sakia El Hamra and the Guelmim-Oued Noun are located partially in Western Sahara. The 11 regions of Morocco with the exception of the one completely in Western Sahara are Beni Mellal-Khenifra, Casablanca-Settat, Draa-Tafilalet, Fes-Meknes, Guelmim-Oued Noun, Laayoune-Sakia al Hamra, Oriental, Marrakech-Safi, Rabat-Sale-Kenitra, Souss-Massa, and Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima.

The regions are subdivided into 75 prefectures and provinces.

Casablanca, the capital city of Morocco, is located in the Casablanca-Settat Region.

Where is Morocco?

Where is Morocco?

Morocco is a country in North Africa. It is located in the Maghreb region in the Northern and Western Hemisphere regions of the Earth. It is bordered by the two countries of Western Sahara to the south and Algeria to the east. It has coastlines on the Atlantic Ocean to the west and the Mediterranean Sea to the north.

Morocco Bordering Countries: Spain, Algeria, Western Sahara.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Morocco

Blank Outline Map of Morocco

The blank outline map represents Morocco. The map can be dowloaded, printed, and used for coloring or educational purposes.

Outline Map of Morocco

The outline map represents the North African country of Morocco. It is a famous travel destination with a lost of historical and natural attractions.

Key Facts

Legal Name Kingdom of Morocco
Capital City Rabat
34 01 N, 6 49 W
Independence 2 March 1956 (from France)


Total Area 446,550 km2
Land Area 446,300 km2
Water Area 250 km2
Total Border 2,362 km
Coastline 1,835 km
Bordering Countries Algeria 1900 km, Western Sahara 444 km, Spain (Ceuta) 8 km, Spain (Melilla) 10.5 km
Climate Mediterranean, becoming more extreme in the interior
Coordinates 32 00 N, 5 00 W
Mean Elevation 909 m
Lowest Elevation -59 m
Sebkha Tah
Highest Elevation 4,165 m
Jebel Toubkal


Population 36,471,769
Major Cities
  1. Dar-el-Beida (Casablanca) (3,752,357)
  2. Rabat (1,884,802)
  3. F (1,224,080)
  4. Tanger (1,197,923)
  5. Marrakech (1,002,709)
  6. Agadir (923,552)
  7. Oujda (558,524)
  8. Mekn (553,755)
  9. K (480,038)
  10. T (421,247)
Ethnic Groups Arab-Berber 99%, other 1%
Languages Arabic (official), Berber languages (Tamazight (official), Tachelhit, Tarifit), French (often the language of business, government, and diplomacy)
Religions Muslim 99% (official; virtually all Sunni, <0.1% Shia), other 1% (includes Christian, Jewish, and Baha'i); note - Jewish about 6,000 (2010 est.)


Currency Moroccan dirhams (MAD)
GDP $118.73 Billion
GDP Per Capita $3,204.10
Exports Clothing and textiles, automobiles, electric components, inorganic chemicals, transistors, crude minerals, fertilizers (including phosphates), petroleum products, citrus fruits, vegetables, fish

This page was last updated on October 12, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas