1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Senegal

Maps of Senegal

Phyiscal Map of Senegal with state boundaries. It shows the physical features of Senegal including relief, mountain ranges, rivers, and major cities. mauritania large senegal map mali guinea guinea bissau the gambia atlantic ocean worldatlas.com worldatlas.com

Senegal is a relatively flat country in West Africa with an area of 196,712 sq. km. It is located in a depression called the Senegal-Mauritanian Basin.

The country can be divided into three major physical regions. To the west is the Cape Verde headland or peninsula with small plateaus of volcanic origin. It hosts the national capital of Dakar as visible on the map. The relatively high eastern and southeastern parts with fringes of ancient massifs including the country's highest point at 581 m constitutes another distinct physical region. The third is the massive lowland area between the highland region to the east and Cape Verde to the west. The country also has a sandy coastline along the Atlantic to the west that is generally low except for the Cape Verde region. 

Major rivers draining the country include Senegal, Gambia, Saloum, and Casamance.

Regions of Senegal Map

Senegal has four levels of administrative divisions. At the top of the hierarchy are the 14 regions of the country that take their name from the regional capitals. In alphabetical order, they are as follows: Dakar, Diourbel, Fatick, Kaffrine, Kaolack, Kedougou, Kolda, Louga, Matam, Saint-Louis, Sedhiou, Tambacounda, Thies, Ziguinchor. 

These regions are further subdivided into 45 departments which are then divided into smaller administrative divisions.

With an area of 42,364 sq. km, Tambacounda is the largest region in the country by area. Dakar that hosts the national capital city of Dakar is the most populous region in the country.

Where is Senegal?

Map showing location of Senegal in the world. Europe Middle East Africa Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer Tunisia

Senegal is a West African country located in the Northern and Western hemispheres of the Earth. It is bordered by four countries; Mauritania, Mali, Guinea, and Guinea-Bissau to the north, east, southeast, and southwest, respectively. The country is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west. Senegal nearly surrounds the small country of The Gambia. 

Senegal Bordering Countries: Mali, Mauritania, The Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Senegal

The blank outline map respresents mainland Senegal. The country also has several islands on the Atlantic Ocean which cannot be observed on this map. The map can be downloaded for free, and used for educational purposes like map-pointing activities.

The outline map represents mainland Senegal. The country also has several islands on the Atlantic Ocean. The territory of the sovereign nation of The Gambia cuts through the lower half of Senegal in a west-east direction leading to the narrow indentation observed on the map above.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Senegal
Flag of Senegal
Capital City Dakar
14 44 N, 17 38 W
Total Area 196,722.00 km2
Land Area 192,530.00 km2
Water Area 4,192.00 km2
Population 16,296,364
Major Cities
  1. Dakar (3,429,536)
  2. Thies (412,088)
  3. Rufisque (387,650)
Currency Communaute Financiere Africaine francs (XOF)
GDP $23.58 Billion
GDP Per Capita $1,446.83

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas