1. Home
  2. Asia
  3. Mongolia

Maps of Mongolia

Physical Map of Mongolia showing international boundaries, relief, highest and lowest points, important cities, major mountain ranges, important rivers, the Gobi Desert, etc.

With an area of 1,564,116 sq. km, Mongolia is the world's 18th largest country. It is located in East Asia where it is bounded by land on all sides.

As observed on the physical map of Mongolia, the country features vast areas of elevated lands including plateaus, mountains, and hills.

From the Gobi Desert areas of the south, Mongolia rises into a grass-covered and generally treeless plain (steppe), punctuated by three mountain ranges. As marked on the map, these are the Khentii Mountains, Khangai Mountains, and the Altay Mountains.

The highest point of Mongolia (marked on the map by a yellow upright triangle), Nayramadlin Orgil at 14,350 ft. (4,374 m), is found in the rugged Atlay Mountains of the west. 

Overall the country has an average elevation near 5,183 ft., (1,580 m); Hoh Nuur at 1,699 ft. (518 m) is the lowest point in the country.

Hovsgol Nuur, one of Asia's largest freshwater lakes is located on its border with the Russian Federation. In addition to being the largest, Hovsgol Nuur is also the second-most voluminous in Asia, and contains nearly 70% of Mongolia's freshwater.

The northern reaches of the country are replete with meandering rivers, thousands of small lakes, marshes and glaciers.

Mongolia, in the west and north, experiences frequent earthquakes, although volcanoes here are considered extinct.

Mongolia Provinces Map

Mongolia is divided into 21 administrative provinces and 1 provincial municipality. In alphabetical order, these provinces are: Arhangay, Bayanhongor, Bayan-olgiy, Bulgan, Darhan-Uul, Dornod, Dornogovi, Dundgovi, Dzavhan (Zavkhan), Govi-Altay, Govisumber, Hentiy, Hovd, Hovsgol, Omnogovi, Orhon, Ovorhangay, Selenge, Suhabaatar, Tov and Uvs. Ulaanbaatar is a provincial municipality in Mongolia. These administrative provinces are further subdivided into a number of districts.

With an area of 1,566,000 sq. km, Mongolia is the 18th largest country in the world. With a population of about 3 million inhabitants, Mongolia is the world’s most sparsely populated country and has one of the lowest average population densities among any country in the world. 

Located in north-central part of the country, Ulaanbaatar is the capital and largest city of Mongolia. It is also the country’s cultural, administrative and economic center and the most populous city. 

Where is Mongolia?

Map showing location of Mongolia in the world. arctic ocean pacific ocean indian ocean australia oceania tropic of capricorn tropic of cancer arctic circle equator africa europe black sea caspian aral sea red sea gulf of aden bay of bengal arabian sea middle east mediterranean sea asia

Mongolia is a landlocked East Asian country. It is located in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the earth. Mongolia is bordered by two nations: China in the south and Russia in the north. Although Mongolia does not share a border with Kazakhstan, the countries are only 37 km apart.

Mongolia Bordering Countries: Russia, China.

Regional Maps: Map of Asia

Outline Map of Mongolia

The blank map above represents Mongolia, a country in East Asia. The map can be downloaded and printed for coloring or geography education.

The above map is of Mongolia, a landlocked country in East Asia. It is the world's second largest landlocked country and has a highly rugged landscape.

Key Facts

Legal Name Mongolia
Flag of Mongolia
Capital City Ulaanbaatar
47 55 N, 106 55 E
Total Area 1,564,116.00 km2
Land Area 1,553,556.00 km2
Water Area 10,560.00 km2
Population 3,225,167
Largest City

Ulaanbaatar (1,672,627)

Currency Togrog/tugriks (MNT)
GDP $13.85 Billion
GDP Per Capita $4,295.24

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas