1. Home
  2. Europe
  3. Austria

Maps of Austria

Physical Map of Austria showing terrain, major rivers, extreme points, mountain ranges, Lake Neusiedler, important cities, international boundaries, etc.

Austria occupies an area of 83,879 sq. km (32,386 sq mi) in south-central Europe. As observed on the physical map of Austria, the country had diverse topography with a large part of the land being mountainous. 

In essence, Austria has three main geographical areas. The Lowlands of the east and southeast are the country's agriculture center. A sliver of lowland also fronts the Lake Constance area on its border with Switzerland. In the Hill Country, north of the Danube River, the land rises into forested hills and lower mountains up to its border with the Czech Republic.

Most of Austria (70%), is covered by the Alpine Region, central and west, as the Alps extend on into Austria from Switzerland. In this region several branches of the Alps dominate. The major ones include the Bavarian, Carnic and Otztaler ranges. The tallest peaks are in the central Tauern Range. The country's highest point, at 12,460 ft. (3,798 m), is located there. A yellow upright triangle marks the position of this mountain on the map. The Tauern Range eventually slopes into the Danube River Valley, and into the eastern lowlands, from Vienna, south to its border with Slovenia.

The Danube (1,771 miles) (2,850 km), is the most significant river in the country. It's the second longest river in Europe, and a vital waterway for commerce. Additional rivers of size include the Drau, Enns, Inn, Mur, Raab and Traun. Dozens and dozens of lakes run amidst the mountain ranges, especially in the south and to the immediate east of Salzburg. The largest in the county is Lake Neusiedler.

At 115.45 m (378.8 ft), Lake Neusiedl hosts the lowest point in Austria.

States of Austria Map

Austria (officially, the Republic of Austria) is divided into 9 federated states (Bundeslander). In alphabetical order, the states are: Burgenland, Carinthia, Lower Austria, Salzburg, Styria, Tyrol, Upper Austria, Vienna and Vorarlberg.  These states are further subdivided into a total of 94 districts of which, 79 are district commissions and 15 are statutory cities.

Located in the north eastern part of the country, Vienna – is the capital, the largest and the most populous city of Austria. It is also the administrative, cultural and economic center of the country.

Where is Austria?

Map showing location of Austria in the world. Oceans of the World Oceans of the World Map of the Denmark Strait Greenland Map Strait of Gibraltar European Map Asian Map Kazakhstan Turkey Map and Information European Russia Map of the Equator Map of the Equator Polar Caps Map Italy Mediterranean Sea Information Custom Maps Africa Map Middle Eastern Map Middle Eastern Map Middle Eastern Map Middle Eastern Map Map of the Middle East Map of the Middle East Map of the Middle East Map of the Middle East African Map African Map African Map African Map Norwegian Sea Map North Sea Map Baltic Sea Information Barents Sea Information Kara Sea Information English Channel Map and Information Bay of Biscay Black Sea Caspian Sea Greenland Sea Map Red Sea Map

Austria is a landlocked mountainous country located in South-Central Europe. It is geographically positioned both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Austria is bordered by 8 countries: by Czech Republic in the north; by Slovakia in the northeast; by Hungary in the east; by Slovenia in the south, by Italy in the southwest; by Switzerland and Liechtenstein in the west and by Germany in the northwest.

Austria Bordering Countries: Italy, Hungary, Slovakia, Germany, Switzerland, The Czech Republic, Liechtenstein, Slovenia.

Regional Maps: Map of Europe

Outline Map of Austria

The above blank map represents Austria, a landlocked mountainous country located in South-Central Europe. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for educational purposes like map-pointing activities and coloring.

The above outline map represents Austria, an East Alpine landlocked nation in South-Central Europe. Along with the neighbouring country of  Switzerland, it is the winter sports capital of Europe. 

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Austria
Flag of Austria
Capital City Vienna
48 12 N, 16 22 E
Total Area 83,871.00 km2
Land Area 82,445.00 km2
Water Area 1,426.00 km2
Population 8,877,067
Largest City

Wien (Vienna) (1,975,271)

Currency Euros (EUR)
GDP $446.31 Billion
GDP Per Capita $50,277.28

This page was last updated on February 25, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas