1. Home
  2. North America
  3. Mexico

Maps of Mexico

Physical Map of Mexico showing relief, major mountain ranges, the Yucatan Peninsula, Baja Peninsula, volcanoes, major cities, islands, international borders, and more. United States of Americs united states of america tucson arizon pacific ocean pacific ocean gulf of mexico central america tropic of cancer caribbean sea baja peninsula mexico cancun cozumel yucatan peninsula

Covering an area of 1,972,550 sq. km (761,610 sq mi), Mexico is a country located in the southern part of North America. As observed on the physical map of Mexico above, the country has an extremely diverse topography. 

Mountains: The Sierra Madre Occidental Range runs north to south, from the Sonora-Arizona border southeast through Sonora, Chihuahua, Sinaloa, Durango, Zacatecas, Nayarit, Jalisco, Augascalientes to Guanajuato, where it joins the Sierra Madre del Sur and the Transverse Volcanic Axis of Central Mexico. These steep mountains are cut through with canyons, including Copper Canyon, the deepest in North America. The highest point is Cero Mohinora at 10,662 ft (3,250m). Sierra Madre del Sur is a mountain range in Mexico, extending 1,000m from southern Michoacan east through Guerrero to eastern Oaxaca. 

Coastal Plains: The Gulf Coastal Plain lies to the east of the Sierra Madre Occidental range fronting the Gulf of Mexico. The very narrow coastal plain along the Pacific Ocean coastline rises quickly into the foothills of the mountains, while the Gulf of Mexico and Caribbean coastlines are wider and rise gently into the interior. 

Plateaus: The Central Mexican Plateau consumer much of Northern and Central Mexico. It extend from the border with the USA on the north to the Cordillera Neovolcanica in the south, with the Sierra Madre Occidental mountain range on the west and the Sierra Madre Oriental on the east. It average 5,988 ft (1,825m) above sea level and is covered mostly by deserts and xeric shrublands.

Volcanoes: A long line of ancient volcanoes (many still active) extends from the Pacific Ocean (north of Guadalajara) on eastward to the Gulf of Mexico, just to the south of Veracruz. Pico de Orizaba Volcano, the 3rd highest mountain in North America and Mexico's highest point is located here. A yellow triangle shows its position on the map above. It is 5,636 m (18,491 ft) tall.

Peninsulas: As observed on the map above, the mountainous Baja Peninsula extends about 750 miles (1,200km) south from the U.S. border. Mexico's limestone Yucatan Peninsula is tree-covered, with thick tropical jungles along it’s border collies with Central America countries. The Yucatan Peninsula separates the Caribbean Sea from the Gulf of Mexico. It is east of the isthmus of Tehuantepec, which is a geographic partition separating Central America from the rest of North America. 

Rivers: Mexico has nearly 150 rivers; most are small, unnavigable, and 70% drain into the Pacific Ocean. Some of the large rivers include the Balsas, Conchos, Grijalva, Panuco, Papaloapan and Usumacinta. The Rio Grande, rising in the San Juan Mountains of the US State of Colorado, flows generally south to the Gulf of Mexico for 1,885 miles (3,000km) and forms much of Mexico’s northern border with the United States. The two largest lakes in the country of Mexico are: Lake Chapala and Lake Cuitzeo. 

States of Mexico Map

Mexico (officially, the United Mexican States) is divided into 32 federal entities, comprising of 31 states (estados, sing. estado) and 1 capital city. In alphabetical order, the states are: Aguascalientes, Baja California, Baja California Sur, Campeche, Chiapas, Chihuahua, Coahuila, Colima, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, Mexico, Michoacan, Morelos, Nayarit, Nuevo Leon, Oaxaca, Puebla, Queretaro, Quintana Rao, San Luis Potosi, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, Tlaxcala, Veracruz, Yucatan and Zacatecas. Mexico City is the capital city. The states are further subdivided into a total of 2,448 municipalities (municipios).

Covering an area of 1,972,550 sq. km, it is the 13th largest country in the world and the 3rd largest country in Latin America. Mexico is also the 10th most populous country and the most populous Spanish-speaking nation in the world. Mexico City is the 2nd largest metropolitan area in the Western hemisphere.

Located in the Valley of Mexico in the center of the country is Mexico City – the capital and the largest city in Mexico. It is the administrative, cultural, educational and economic center of the country. It is also the most populous city and an important financial center in North America.

Where is Mexico?

Map showing location of Mexico in the world. Arctic Circle Alaska Hudson Bay Canada Arctic Ocean World Atlas.com Hawaii Mexico Gulf of Mexico Carribean Tropic of Cancer Carribean Sea Central America Oceans South America Equator Greenland Oceans North America United States

Mexico is a country located in the southern part of North America. The country is dissected by the Tropic of Cancer and is positioned in the Northern and Western hemispheres of the Earth. Mexico shares land borders with the United States of America to the north and with Guatemala and Belize to the southeast. It is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean to the south and west; by the Gulf of Mexico and the Caribbean Sea to the east. Mexico shares its maritime borders with Cuba and Honduras.

Mexico Bordering Countries: The United States Of America, Guatemala, Belize.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Mexico

The above blank map represents Mexico, a country located in the southern part of North America. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for educational purposes or coloring.

The above outline map represents Mexico – a country in southern North America. This roughly triangular shaped country is also the 3rd largest in Latin America.

Key Facts

Legal Name United Mexican States
Flag of Mexico
Capital City Mexico City (Ciudad de Mexico)
19 26 N, 99 08 W
Total Area 1,964,375.00 km2
Land Area 1,943,945.00 km2
Water Area 20,430.00 km2
Population 127,575,529
Major Cities
  1. Ciudad de México (Mexico City) (21,782,378)
  2. Guadalajara (5,179,479)
  3. Monterrey (4,874,095)
  4. Puebla (3,194,848)
  5. Toluca de Lerdo (2,467,241)
  6. Tijuana (2,140,398)
  7. León de los Aldamas (1,825,080)
  8. La Laguna (1,614,854)
  9. Ciudad Juárez (1,519,214)
  10. Querétaro (1,339,103)
Currency Mexican pesos (MXN)
GDP $1.26 Trillion
GDP Per Capita $9,863.07

This page was last updated on February 25, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas