1. Home
  2. Asia
  3. Azerbaijan

Maps of Azerbaijan

Physical Map of Azerbaijan showing state boundaries, relief, major rivers, mountain ranges, important cities, etc.

Azerbaijan is a country covering 86,600 km2 (33,400 sq mi) in the Caucasus region of Eurasia. 

As observed on the physical map of Azerbaijan, the country his highly mountainous. The Caucasus Mountains cover the north and central regions of the country. Here, many snow-capped peaks exceed 12,000 ft.

The highest point in the country, Baza-Dyuzi at 14,698 ft. (4,480m) is also located here and has been marked on the map above by a yellow triangle.

Moving southwest, the Lesser Caucasus cross the land, stretching on into Armenia, and in the far-south, the Talish Mountains help form its border with Iran. 

A low flood plain covers the south-central and east, ending at the Caspian Sea; much of it below sea level. Baku, the capital city, sits on the Abseron Yasaqligi (or Apsheron Peninsula), which juts hook-line into the Caspian Sea 

Significant rivers include the Alazani, Aras and Kura, and the Mangachevir Reservoir is the largest inland body of water.

Rayons of Azerbaijan Map

Political Map of Azerbaijan showing the 66 rayons and 11 cities including the national capital of Baku.

Azerbaijan (officially, Republic of Azerbaijan) is divided into 66 rayons (rayonlar, sing. rayon) and 11 cities (saharlar, sing. sahar). In alphabetical order, the rayons are: Abseron, Agcabadi, Agdam, Agdas, Agstafa, Agsu, Astara, Babak, Balakan, Barda, Beylaqan, Bilasuvar, Cabrayil, Calilabad, Culfa, Daskasan, Fuzuli, Gadabay, Goranboy, Goycay, Goygol, Haciqabul, Imisli, Ismayilli, Kalbacar, Kangarli, Kurdamir, Lacin, Lankaran, Lerik, Masalli, Neftcala, Oguz, Ordubad, Qabala, Qax, Qazax, Qobustan, Quba, Qubadli, Qusar, Saatli, Sabirabad, Sabran, Sadarak, Sahbuz, Saki, Salyan, Samaxi, Samkir, Samux, Sarur, Siyazan, Susa, Tartar, Tovuz, Ucar, Xacmaz, Xizi, Xocali, Xocavand, Yardimli, Yevlax, Zangilan, Zaqatala and Zardab. The cities are: Baku, Ganca, Lankaran, Mingacevir, Naftalan, Naxcivan (Nakhichevan), Saki, Sirvan, Sumqayit, Xankandi and Yevlax. 

Located on western coast of the Caspian Sea, Baku is the capital and the largest city of Azerbaijan. For its location of 28m below the sea level, Baku is largest city in the world located below the sea level and also the lowest lying national capital in the world. Baku is the administrative, cultural and economic center of Azerbaijan. 

Where is Azerbaijan?

Where is Azerbaijan?

Azerbaijan is located at the junction of Eastern Europe and Western Asia along the southern flanks of the Caucasus Mountains. It is situated both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Azerbaijan is bordered by Russia in the north, Georgia in the northwest, Armenia in the west, and Iran in the south. It is bounded in the east by the Caspian Sea.

Azerbaijan Bordering Countries: Georgia, Turkey, Russia, Iran, Armenia.

Regional Maps: Map of Asia

Outline Map of Azerbaijan

Blank Outline Map of Azerbaijan

The blank outline map is of Azerbaijan. The map can be downloaded, printed, and used for geography studies like map-pointing activities.

Outline Map of Azerbaijan

The above map is of Azerbaijan, a country located at the juncture of Europe and Asia, and with a coastline on the Caspian Sea.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Azerbaijan
Capital City Baku (Baki, Baky)
40 23 N, 49 52 E
Independence 30 August 1991 (declared from the Soviet Union); 18 October 1991 (adopted by the Supreme Council of Azerbaijan)


Total Area 86,600 km2
Land Area 82,629 km2
Water Area 3,971 km2
Total Border 2,468 km
Coastline 0 km
Bordering Countries Armenia 996 km, Georgia 428 km, Iran 689 km, Russia 338 km, Turkey 17 km
Climate Dry, semiarid steppe
Coordinates 40 30 N, 47 30 E
Mean Elevation 384 m
Lowest Elevation -28 m
Caspian Sea
Highest Elevation 4,466 m
Bazarduzu Dagi


Population 10,023,318
Major Cities
  1. Baku (2,341,443)
  2. Sumquayit (354,086)
  3. G (340,912)
Ethnic Groups Azerbaijani 91.6%, Lezghin 2%, Russian 1.3%, Armenian 1.3%, Talysh 1.3%, other 2.4% (2009 est.)
Languages Azerbaijani (Azeri) (official) 92.5%, Russian 1.4%, Armenian 1.4%, other 4.7% (2009 est.)
Religions Muslim 96.9% (predominantly Shia), Christian 3%, other <0.1, unaffiliated <0.1 (2010 est.)


Currency Azerbaijani manats (AZN)
GDP $48.05 Billion
GDP Per Capita $4,793.59
Exports Oil and gas roughly 90%, machinery, foodstuffs, cotton

This page was last updated on October 9, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas