1. Home
  2. Asia
  3. Pakistan

Maps of Pakistan

Physical Map of Pakistan showing state boundaries, relief, Mount K2, the Indus River and its tributaries, important cities, and more. pakistan large color map tajikistan uzbekistan turkmenistan china afghanistan india iran arabian sea tropic of cancer

Pakistan, situated in the southern part of Asia, shares its borders with several countries and bodies of water. To the east, it adjoins India, while to the west, it borders Iran and Afghanistan. China forms its northeastern frontier, and in the south, Pakistan has a coastline along the Arabian Sea. Pakistan encompasses an area of approximately 881,913 km2 (340,509 mi2), making it the 33rd largest country in the world by total land area.

Pakistan encompasses roughly six distinct regions. The Northern Areas, officially named Gilgit-Baltistan, present some of the world's highest mountain peaks, with five out of fourteen "eight-thousanders", mountains higher than 8,000 meters, located in this area. These peaks include K2, the second-highest peak in the world. Besides mountains, Gilgit-Baltistan also hosts extensive glaciers, notably the Siachen Glacier. The region has a highland climate characterized by cold winters and cool summers.

Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK): To the east of Gilgit-Baltistan, the region of Azad Jammu and Kashmir stretches out. AJK is topographically complex, with numerous valleys and mountains. The area predominantly possesses a subtropical highland climate with mild summers and cold winters, often with heavy snowfall. Despite the rugged terrain, the region's population relies heavily on agriculture.

Punjab: Moving further south, one encounters the Punjab region. Dominated by the fertile Indus River plain, Punjab's topography is generally flat, interspersed with occasional hillocks and mountain foothills. Punjab's climate is typically subtropical, with hot summers and cold winters. Its fertile plains are central to Pakistan's agricultural output, contributing significantly to its economy.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP): Northwest of Punjab, one finds the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province. KP features a diverse terrain comprising mountain ranges, hills, and plains. The Hindu Kush range dominates the northern KP, while the southern part is generally plain, forming part of the larger Indus plain. The province experiences a mostly subtropical highland climate, but the plains areas can have extremely hot summers.

Balochistan: Further west lies Balochistan, the largest province by area, encompassing arid desert plains and mountain ranges, such as the Sulaiman and Toba Kakar ranges. The climate varies greatly, being semi-arid in the northeast to desertic in the southwest. Balochistan’s landscape is known for its sparse vegetation due to its aridity, with agriculture being limited.

Sindh Province: Finally, in the southernmost part of Pakistan, lies the Sindh province. Sindh primarily consists of a hot desert terrain and fertile plains along the Indus River. The climate here is typically desertic with extremely hot summers and mild winters. Sindh is known for its intensive agriculture due to the river Indus's irrigating capabilities.

Bodies of Water: The Indus River, originating from the Tibetan plateau, runs through the country from the northern areas to the Arabian Sea in the south. The river is vital to Pakistan's agricultural sector. Additionally, the Jhelum, Chenab, Ravi, Beas, and Sutlej rivers, all tributaries of the Indus, form an extensive river system that provides essential water resources for the country.

Pakistan’s coastline along the Arabian Sea stretches about 1,046 km (650 mi), primarily through the provinces of Sindh and Balochistan. Several small islands dot the coastline, the most notable of which is Manora Island near the city of Karachi.

Provinces and Territories Map of Pakistan

Pakistan (officially, Islamic Republic of Pakistan) is divided into four administrative provinces, two autonomous territories and one federal territory. The administrative provinces are: Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. Gilgit –Baltistan and Azad Jammu & Kashmir are the two autonomous territories; while Islamabad Capital Territory is a federal territory of Pakistan. These administrative provinces are divided into divisions which are further subdivided into districts and a number of smaller subdivisions. 

Located at the eastern edge of the Iranian Plateau, in south western Pakistan – Balochistan is the largest of the four provinces of Pakistan; occupying an area of 347,190 sq. km. Islamabad – the capital city of Pakistan is located in the northern part of the country, along the Himalayan foothills and in The Islamabad Capital Territory. Islamabad is a planned city with high standards of living and is also the 9th largest city of Pakistan. 

Karachi is the largest and most populous city of Pakistan. Located in the southern part of the country, on the Arabian Sea coast; Karachi serves as Pakistan’s maritime port and the country’s economic center. 

Where is Pakistan?

Map showing location of Pakistan in the world. arctic ocean pacific ocean indian ocean australia oceania tropic of capricorn tropic of cancer arctic circle equator africa europe black sea caspian aral sea red sea gulf of aden bay of bengal arabian sea middle east mediterranean sea asia

Pakistan is a sovereign country in Southern Asia, located both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. It borders four countries. Pakistan shares an eastern border with India, a north eastern border with China, a south western border with Iran and a western and northern border with Afghanistan The Arabian Sea and the Gulf of Oman border Pakistan to the south.

Pakistan Bordering Countries: Iran, India, China, Afghanistan.

Regional Maps: Map of Asia

Outline Map of Pakistan

The blank outline map is of the South Asian country of Pakistan. The above map can be downloaded, printed, and used for coloring or map-pointing.

The outline map above represents the country of Pakistan in South Asia. 

Key Facts

Legal Name Islamic Republic of Pakistan
Flag of Pakistan
Capital City Islamabad
33 41 N, 73 03 E
Total Area 796,095.00 km2
Land Area 770,875.00 km2
Water Area 25,220.00 km2
Population 216,565,318
Major Cities
  1. Karachi (17,236,230)
  2. Lahore (13,979,390)
  3. Faisalabad (3,710,845)
  4. Gujranwala (2,415,416)
  5. Peshawar (2,411,785)
  6. Rawalpindi (2,377,325)
  7. Multan (2,154,600)
  8. Hyderabad (1,967,684)
  9. Islamabad (1,232,447)
  10. Quetta (1,190,348)
Currency Pakistani rupees (PKR)
GDP $278.22 Billion
GDP Per Capita $1,284.70

This page was last updated on July 17, 2023

Latest by WorldAtlas