1. Home
  2. North America
  3. Puerto Rico

Maps of Puerto Rico

Physical Map of Puerto Rico showing relief, islands, mountain ranges, important settlements, etc. atlantic ocean caribbean sea large puerto rico map

The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico is an unincorporated island territory of the United States of America, located in north-eastern Caribbean Sea. It has a total area of 9,104 sq. km (3,515 sq mi). The territory consists of the main island, and a series of smaller islands, mostly off it’s eastern coastline. 

Volcanic in origin, the big rectangular shaped island is mountainous through its heart. As observed on the physical map of Puerto Rico above, the most significant mountain range “Cordillera Central” contains Puerto Rico's highest point, Cerro de Punta at 1,339m ( 4,393 ft).

The coastal areas, north and south are mostly lowlands, fronted by hundreds of miles of sandy beaches. Rocky cliffs stretch across parts of the northern coastline, and in the north, Puerto Rico's so called (karst region) contains small caves, caverns, rainforests, sinkholes, waterfalls and underground rivers.

A dozen (rather small) man-made lakes are scattered about, and more than 50 rivers drain the island. The Puerto Rico Trench, some 70 miles directly to the north, is the largest and the deepest trench in the Atlantic Ocean at 8,400m (27,600ft). 

Municipalities of Puerto Rico Map

Puerto Rico (officially, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico) has no first- order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government. There are 78 municipalities (municipios, singular – municipio), which are the 2nd order administrative divisions in Puerto Rico. In alphabetical order, the municipalities are: Adjuntas, Aguada, Aguadilla, Aguas Buenas, Aibonito, Anasco, Arecibo, Arroyo, Barceloneta, Barranquitas, Bayamon, Cabo Rojo, Caguas, Camuy, Canovanas, Carolina, Catano, Cayey, Ceiba, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerio, Corozal, Culebra, Dorado, Fajardo, Florida, Guanica, Guayama, Guayanilla, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Hatillo, Hormigueros, Humacao, Isabela, Jayuya, Juana Diaz, Juncos, Lajas, Lares, Las Marias, Las Piedras, Loiza, Luquillo, Manati, Maricao, Maunabo, Mayaguez, Moca, Morovis, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Penuelas, Ponce, Quebradillas, Rincon, Rio Grande, Sabana Grande, Salinas, San German, San Juan, San Lorenzo, San Sebastian, Santa Isabel, Toa Alta, Toa Baja, Trujillo Alto, Utuado, Vega Alta, Vega Baja, Vieques, Villalba, Yabucoa and Yauco. The municipalities are further subdivided into barrios.

Located in the north-eastern coast of the island country is, San Juan – the capital, the largest city and the most populous municipality of Puerto Rico. It is the cultural, tourism and financial center of the country. San Juan is also the most important seaport of Puerto Rico.

Where is Puerto Rico?

Map showing location of Puerto Rico in the world. bahamas florida gulf of mexico mexico jamaica dominican republic st. vincent and the grenadines grenada central america atlantic ocean atlantic ocean usa honduras nicaragua panama caribbean sea pacific ocean puerto rico south america trinidad and tobago colombia barbados

Puerto Rico is an unincorporated island territory of the United States of America, located in the north-eastern Caribbean Sea. Puerto Rico - the easternmost island nation and a part of the Greater Antilles Chain; is geographically positioned in the Northern and Western hemispheres of the Earth. It is situated to the east of the Hispaniola Islands (shared by Haiti & the Dominican Republic); to the west of the US Virgin Islands and to the southeast of Florida. The northern shore of Puerto Rico faces the Atlantic Ocean.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Puerto Rico

The above blank map represents Puerto Rico – an unincorporated island territory of the United States of America in the Caribbean Sea. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for educational purposes or coloring.

The above outline map represents Puerto Rico, a roughly rectangular shaped island in the Caribbean Sea.

Key Facts

Legal Name Commonwealth of Puerto Rico
Flag of Puerto Rico
Capital City San Juan
18 28 N, 66 07 W
Total Area 9,104.00 km2
Land Area 8,959.00 km2
Water Area 145.00 km2
Population 3,193,694
Major Cities
  1. San Juan (2,448,417)
  2. Aguadilla-Isabela-San Sebastian (299,956)
Currency US Dollar (USD)
GDP $104.99 Billion
GDP Per Capita $32,873.72

This page was last updated on February 25, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas