1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Egypt

Maps of Egypt

Physical Map of Egypt showing the state boundaries, relief, the Nile River, major lakes, deserts, and important cities. mediterranean sea red sea gulf of suez suez canal gulf of aqaba libya sudan western sahara lebanon syria israel saudia arabia jordan worldatlas.com worldatlas.com

The transcontinental country of Egypt covers an area of 1,010,408 sq. km. As observed on the physical map above, Egypt is largely covered by desert with the Nile River running south to north through the middle of the eastern half of the country to drain into the Mediterranean Sea. The river stretches from Lake Nasser in southern Egypt and runs through a narrow valley with bordering cliffs to enter Cairo where it spreads out to finally form a delta at its mouth. The Nile is called the lifeline of Egypt. Around 98% of the country's population resides in the Nile River Valley.

As observed on the map, most of Egypt is in Africa while a part of it, the Sinai Peninsula, acts as the land bridge between Africa and Asia. The Mediterranean and the Red Sea are connected through the man-made Suez Canal with the Sinai Peninsula lying to the east of this canal. 

On both sides of the Nile River Valley are vast stretches of desert designated as the Eastern Desert and the Western Desert. 

In the far southwest, the land rises into the Gilf Kebir Plateau, with elevations near 609 m. Sandstone plateaus front the Nile and the Red Sea, with cliffs as high as 548 m. In the far southeast, the Red Sea Mountains, an extension of the Ethiopian Highlands, continue into Sudan.

Lake Nassar, the largest lake in Egypt can be observed on the map in southeastern Egypt. It is man-made and was created when the Aswan dam was constructed, then finished in 1970.

The 2,642 m high Mount Catherine in the Sinai Peninsula is the highest point in Egypt.

The lowest point of Egypt is the Qattara Depression at -436 ft (-133 m).

Governorates of Egypt Map

Egypt has 27 governorates. These are Ad Daqahliyah, Al Bahr al Ahmar (Red Sea), Al Buhayrah, Al Fayyum, Al Gharbiyah, Al Iskandariyah (Alexandria), Al Isma'iliyah (Ismailia), Al Jizah (Giza), Al Minufiyah, Al Minya, Al Qahirah (Cairo), Al Qalyubiyah, Al Uqsur (Luxor), Al Wadi al Jadid (New Valley), As Suways (Suez), Ash Sharqiyah, Aswan, Asyut, Bani Suwayf, Bur Sa'id (Port Said), Dumyat (Damietta), Janub Sina' (South Sinai), Kafr ash Shaykh, Matruh, Qina, Shamal Sina' (North Sinai), Suhaj.

With an area of 440,098 sq. km, New Valley is the largest governorate of the country by area. Cairo, the nation's capital is the most populous one.

Where is Egypt?

Map showing location of Egypt in the world. Europe Middle East Africa Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer Tunisia

Egypt is a transcontinental country that stretches from the northeast corner of Africa to the southwest corner of Asia. The Sinai Peninsula of Egypt acts as the land bridge between these two continents. Egypt is located in the Northern and Eastern Hemispheres of the Earth. It has land borders with Sudan to the south, Libya to the west, Israel and the Gaza Strip to the northeast. To the north, Egypt has a coastline on the Mediterranean Sea while the Red Sea and Gulf of Aqaba border it to the east.

Egypt Bordering Countries: Palestine, The Sudan, Israel, Libya.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Egypt

The blank outline map of the country of Egypt. The map can be downloaded for free and used for education purpose like map-pointing or for coloring as well.

The outline map shows the North African country of Egypt, a country well known for its pyramids and Pharaohs. Egypt is a transcontinental country with the Sinani Peninsula in the extreme right of the country acting as a land bridge between Africa and Asia.

Key Facts

Legal Name Arab Republic of Egypt
Flag of Egypt
Capital City Cairo
30 03 N, 31 15 E
Total Area 1,001,450.00 km2
Land Area 995,450.00 km2
Water Area 6,000.00 km2
Population 100,388,073
Major Cities
  1. Al-Qahirah (Cairo) (20,900,604)
  2. Al-Iskandariyah (Alexandria) (5,280,664)
  3. Bur Sa'id (737,000)
  4. As-Suways (638,229)
  5. Al-Mansurah (555,621)
  6. Al-Mahallah al-Kubra (517,549)
  7. Tanta (501,423)
  8. Asyut (460,998)
  9. Al-Fayyum (409,558)
  10. Az-Zaqazig (358,378)
Currency Egyptian pounds (EGP)
GDP $303.18 Billion
GDP Per Capita $3,020.03

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas