1. Home
  2. Oceania
  3. Fiji

Maps of Fiji

Physical Map of Fiji showing islands, relief, Mount Victoria, important settlements, etc. large fiji map pacific ocean

Covering an area of 18,300 sq.km (7,056 sq mi), the island nation of Fiji is located in the South Pacific Ocean, some 1,300 miles (2,000 km) northeast of New Zealand’s North Island; comprising of more than 332 islands of which 110 are inhabited, along with an additional 500 islets.

The two largest islands as shown on the physical map of Fiji are Viti Levu and Vanua Levu, which make up 87% of Fiji’s total landmass. These mountainous islands were formed around 150 million years ago through volcanic activity, and are subsequently covered in thick tropical forests.

Most of Fiji’s mountains are dormant or extinct volcanoes. Mount Tomanivi, located on the main island of Viti Levu, is the highest point of Fiji, at an elevation of 4,341ft (1,324m) and the lowest point is the Pacific Ocean (0m). Due to the mountainous terrain of these islands, there are several streams and waterfalls.

Perhaps what Fiji is most famous for, however, are its crystal clear waters, coral reefs, shallow lagoons and white sand beaches that draw in thousands of tourists annually.

Divisions of Fiji Map

Fiji (officially, the Republic of Fiji) is administratively divided into 4 divisions which are further subdivided into 14 provinces and 1 self-governing dependency. The 4 divisions are: Central Division, Northern Division, Eastern Division and Western Division. In alphabetical order, the provinces are: Ba, Bua, Cakaudrove, Kadavu, Lau, Lomaiviti, Macuata, Nadroga and Navosa, Naitasiri, Namosi, Ra, Rewa, Serua and Tailevu. Rotuma is a self-governing dependency. The provinces are further divided into 17 districts and 5 sub-districts.

Covering an area of 18,300 sq.km, the island nation of Fiji is an archipelago of more than 330 islands and 500 islets; with Viti Levu and Vanua Levu being the two largest and the most populated islands. Located on the southeastern coast of Viti Levu (Fiji’s principal island) is Suva – the capital and the largest city of Fiji, as well as one of the largest urban centers in the South Pacific islands. Suva is also the chief port and the administrative, cultural, economic and commercial center of the country. Lautoka is the 2nd largest city in Fiji.

Where is Fiji?

Map showing location of Fiji in the world. PACIFIC OCEAN

Fiji is an island nation in Melanesia and an archipelago in the Southern Pacific Ocean, as a part of the continent of Oceania. It is geographically positioned both in the Southern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Fiji is situated in the northeast of Australia; in the north of New Zealand and is completely surrounded by the Pacific Ocean. Its closest neighbors are: Vanuatu to the west; New Caledonia to the southwest; New Zealand’s Kermadec Islands to the southeast; Tonga to the east; the Samoa and France’s Wallis and Futuna to the northeast and Tuvalu to the north.

Regional Maps: Map of Oceania

Outline Map of Fiji

The above blank map represents Fiji – a Melanesian country, an archipelago and a part of Oceania in the South Pacific Ocean. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities.

The above outline map represents Fiji – a Melanesian country, an archipelago and a part of Oceania in the South Pacific Ocean.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Fiji
Flag of Fiji
Capital City Suva (on Viti Levu)
18 08 S, 178 25 E
Total Area 18,274.00 km2
Land Area 18,274.00 km2
Water Area N/A
Population 889,953
Currency Fijian dollars (FJD)
GDP $5.54 Billion
GDP Per Capita $6,220.05

This page was last updated on February 25, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas