World Facts

Countries That Start With The Letter T

There are 10 countries that start with the letter t.

The following are countries starting with T:

  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu

Countries That Start with The Letter T


Tanzania is alphabetically the first country that begins with the letter “T” in the continent of Africa. It is located in East Africa and is a member of the East African Community and the African Union. Tanzania is home to Africa’s Highest peak and the world famous Serengeti National Reserve. The Togolese Republic popularly referred to as Togo is west African country located east of Ghana and west of Benin. It relatively a small country with a population of approximately 8 million and an area of 21,925 sq mi. Tunisia is a sovereign country in North Africa. It borders Algeria, Libya, and the Mediterranean Sea. It is home to about 12 million people. Cape Angela is Tunisia’s and Africa’s northernmost point.


Thailand, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan are the only three countries beginning with the letter “T” that are wholly in the continent of Asia. Turkey is transcontinental state and although a large part of the country is located on the Asian continent a smaller part of the state is located in Southeast Europe. The country is home to an estimated 82.8 million. Thailand is home to about 69 million people is located in Southeast Asia. Tajikistan is also located in Central Asia west of China. It has a population of about 8.7 million. Turkmenistan, formerly Turkmenia is located in Central Asia. It is bordered by Iran, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Afghanistan, and the Caspian Sea. Turkmenistan has a population of about 5.7 million.


Trinidad and Tobago is a twin-island located in the Caribbean 6.8 miles from Venezuela and 81 miles south of Granada. It is a sovereign state with an estimated population of 1.35 million and an area of 1,981 sq mi.


Tonga, officially the Kingdom of Tonga, consists of 169 islands. Thirty-six of the islands are inhabited. The total landmass is about 290 sq mi spread over an area of 270,000 sq mi. Tonga has an estimated population of 108,000. Tuvalu, formally referred as Ellice Islands is located in the Pacific Ocean between Australia and Hawaii. The country consists of six true atolls and three reef islands. It has a population of about 10,500 and its total land mass is ten sq mi.

Countries Not Recognized By The United Nations

The UN does not recognize Taiwan as a sovereign state. The number of sovereign states is set to rise in the future as several states to-be seek sovereignty, including Transnistria.

Which Countries Start With the Letter T?

The following countries start with the letter T: Tanzania, Tajikistan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, and Tuvalu.

Countries That Start With The Letter T

Countries That Start With The Letter T
Trinidad and Tobago

About the Author

Victor Kiprop is a writer from Kenya. When he's not writing he spends time watching soccer and documentaries, visiting friends, or working in the farm. 


Your MLA Citation

Your APA Citation

Your Chicago Citation

Your Harvard Citation

Remember to italicize the title of this article in your Harvard citation.

More in World Facts