1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Libya


Physical Map of Libya

Physical Map of Libya displaying state boundaries, relief, highest point, important cities, and desert with its sand seas.
Print Map

With an area of 1,759,541 sq. km, the North African country of Libya, is the fourth largest country in the continent.

As observed on the physical map of Libya, most of the country's terrain is barren and features flat to undulating plains, plateaus, and depressions.Several highlands dot the landscape, but there are almost no true mountain ranges, except for the Tibesti Massif along its border with Chad.

South of Libya's narrow coastal strip is a sparse grassland giving way to the Sahara Desert - a vast, unfertile wasteland that supports a very small percentage of people and agriculture.

The Mediterranean coast and the Sahara Desert are Libya's most prominent natural features.

Within Africa, Libya has the longest Mediterranean coastline and is home to many unspoiled beaches.

The highest point of the country is Bikku Bitti at 2,267 m as marked on the map with an upright yellow triangle. The lowest point of Libya is Sabkhat Ghuzayyil at -47 m.

There are no permanent rivers in Libya. There are numerous wadis or dry river beds that are intermittently filled up by water from occasional flash floods. The country has an extensive store of underground water that feeds the oases in the country.

Governorates of Libya Map

The Political Map of Libya showing its 22 governorates and national capital of Tripoli.
Print Map

As per the CIA World Factbook, Libya has 22 governorates. In alphabetical order, these are: Al Butnan, Al Jabal al Akhdar, Al Jabal al Gharbi, Al Jafarah, Al Jufrah, Al Kufrah, Al Marj, Al Marqab, Al Wahat, An Nuqat al Khams, Az Zawiyah, Banghazi (Benghazi), Darnah, Ghat, Misratah, Murzuq, Nalut, Sabha, Surt, Tarabulus (Tripoli), Wadi al Hayat, Wadi ash Shati.

Tripoli is the capital of the country.

Where is Libya?

Where is Libya?
Print Map

Libya is a country located in the Maghreb region of North Africa. It is bordered by five countries. These are Egypt, Sudan, Chad, Niger, Algeria, and Tunisia to the east, southeast, south, southwest, west, and northwest, respectively. The country also has a coastline on the Mediterranean Sea to the north. Libya is located in the Northern and Eastern Hemispheres of the Earth.

Libya Bordering Countries: Egypt, The Sudan, Chad, Tunisia, The Niger, Algeria.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Libya

Blank Outline Map of Libya

The blank outline map represents the North African country of Libya. The map can be downloaded and printed to practice map-pointing actvities as part of geography education.

Print Map
Outline Map of Libya

The outline map represents the North African country of Libya, the continent's fourth biggest nation.

Print Map

Key Facts

Legal Name State of Libya
Capital City Tripoli (Tarabulus)
32 53 N, 13 10 E
Independence 24 December 1951 (from UN trusteeship)


Total Area 1,759,540 km2
Land Area 1,759,540 km2
Water Area 0 km2
Total Border 4,339 km
Coastline 1,770 km
Bordering Countries Algeria 989 km, Chad 1050 km, Egypt 1115 km, Niger 342 km, Sudan 382 km, Tunisia 461 km
Climate Mediterranean along coast; dry, extreme desert interior
Coordinates 25 00 N, 17 00 E
Mean Elevation 423 m
Lowest Elevation -47 m
Sabkhat Ghuzayyil
Highest Elevation 2,267 m
Bikku Bitti


Population 6,777,452
Ethnic Groups Berber and Arab 97%, other 3% (includes Egyptian, Greek, Indian, Italian, Maltese, Pakistani, Tunisian, and Turkish)
Languages Arabic (official), Italian, English (all widely understood in the major cities); Berber (Nafusi, Ghadamis, Suknah, Awjilah, Tamasheq)
Religions Muslim (official; virtually all Sunni) 96.6%, Christian 2.7%, Buddhist 0.3%, Hindu <0.1, Jewish <0.1, folk religion <0.1, unafilliated 0.2%, other <0.1 (2010 est.)


Currency Libyan dinars (LYD)
GDP $52.08 Billion
GDP Per Capita $7,683.75
Exports Crude oil, refined petroleum products, natural gas, chemicals

This page was last updated on September 14, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas