1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Tanzania

Maps of Tanzania

Physical Map of Tanzania with state boundaries, and major physical features like mountain ranges, rivers, lakes, national parks, etc. worldatlas.com worldatlas.com atlantic ocean zanzibar malawi kenya mozambique lake malawi uganda rwanda burundi democractic republic of the congo lake victoria kenya zambia equator large tanzania map

Tanzania has varied geography with several spectacular and globally famous natural features several of which have been represented on the physical map above. 

The country has two branches of the East African Rift System that runs in the north-south direction through the country. The central part between these two mountain systems is occupied by a massive plateau covered with vast tracts of grasslands, arable lands and protected areas. Dodoma, the national capital, is located in this region.

The 5,895m tall Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest peak and an inactive volcano, is located in north-east Tanzania which is a highly mountainous region and part of the eastern branch of the East African Rift System. Lake Nyasa is also part of this mountain system.

Further north is the Ngorongoro Conservation Area hosting the Ngorongoro Crater marked on the physical map above, a massive volcanic caldera that is part of the Crater Highlands region. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. 

Northwards and westwards is the renowned Serengeti National Park of Tanzania that draws tourists from across the globe to witness the annual wildlife migrations. 

As can be observed on the map, the northern border of Tanzania with Kenya and Uganda has the southern portion of Lake Victoria, Africa's biggest lake and source of the River Nile. 

Another famous lake, the world's second deepest one, Lake Tanganyika is located along Tanzania's border with the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It is part of the western branch of the East African Rift System.

The eastern coast of the country comprises of a narrow band of coastal lowlands that hosts Dar-es-salaam, the commercial capital. The Zanzibar and Pemba islands are located north-east of this city in the Indian Ocean

Rivers that drain eastern and central Tanzania drain into the Indian Ocean. The 600 km long Rufiji River is the longest river in the country and it drains into the Indian Ocean. Northern Tanzanian rivers mostly empty into Lake Victoria while the western part of the country lies in the watershed of Lake Tanganyika. Lake Malawi receives waters from many southwestern Tanzanian Rivers. Several endorheic basins are located in north-central Tanzania.

Regions of Tanzania Map

Tanzania is divided into 31 regions as visible on the political map above. In alphabetical order, these regions are as follows: Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Dodoma, Geita, Iringa, Kagera, Kaskazini Pemba (Pemba North), Kaskazini Unguja (Zanzibar North), Katavi, Kigoma, Kilimanjaro, Kusini Pemba (Pemba South), Kusini Unguja (Zanzibar Central/South), Lindi, Manyara, Mara, Mbeya, Mjini Magharibi (Zanzibar Urban/West), Morogoro, Mtwara, Mwanza, Njombe, Pwani (Coast), Rukwa, Ruvuma, Shinyanga, Simiyu, Singida, Songwe, Tabora, Tanga

Each region of the country is further sub-divided into districts, and districts into divisions which are further sub-divided into local wards. It does not stop there. Wards are further divided into streets (in urban areas) and villages (in rural areas).

With an area of 76,150 sq. km, Tabora is the largest region in Tanzania by area.  Dar-es-Salaam Region that hosts Dar-es-Salaam city, the former capital of Tanzania, is the country's largest region by population.

Dodoma, the current capital of the country is part of the Dodoma Region.

Where is Tanzania?

Map showing location of Tanzania in the world. Europe Middle East Africa Tanzania Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer

Tanzania is a country in East Africa's Great Lakes Region. As observed on the location map above, Tanzania is located just below the Equator in the Southern and Eastern Hemisphere. It is one of the 10 countries with the most international borders in the world. As represented in the map, it is bordered by 8 countries. Uganda bounds it to the north, Kenya to the northeast, Malawi and Mozambique to the south, and Zambia to the southwest. The three countries of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Burundi, and Rwanda border Tanzania to the west. The country's eastern borders are formed by the Indian Ocean. 

Tanzania Bordering Countries: Kenya, Mozambique, Zambia, Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda, The Democratic Republic Of The Congo, Malawi.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Tanzania

The blank outline map respresents mainland Tanzania. The country also has several islands on the Indian Ocean which cannot be observed on this map. The above map can be downloaded for free, and used for educational purposes like map-pointing activities.

The outline map of Tanzania represents mainland Tanzania, a country located in Eastern Africa. The country also has several islands on the Indian Ocean.  

Key Facts

Legal Name United Republic of Tanzania
Flag of Tanzania
Capital City Dar es Salaam (administrative capital), Dodoma (legislative capital); note - Dodoma was designated the national capital in 1996 and serves as the meeting place for the National Assembly; Dar es Salaam remains the de facto capital, the country's larges
6 48 S, 39 17 E
Total Area 947,300.00 km2
Land Area 885,800.00 km2
Water Area 61,500.00 km2
Population 58,005,463
Major Cities
  1. Dar es Salaam (6,701,650)
  2. Mwanza (1,120,430)
  3. Zanzibar (705,078)
  4. Mbeya (566,065)
  5. Arusha (492,919)
  6. Morogoro (408,740)
  7. Songea (352,781)
Currency Tanzanian shillings (TZS)
GDP $63.18 Billion
GDP Per Capita $1,122.12

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas