1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Malawi

Maps of Malawi

Physical Map of Malawi displaying state boundaries, relief, highest point, important cities, Lake Malawi, and major rivers. worldatlas.com worldatlas.com zambia zimbabwe tanzania mozambique large malawi map

Malawi, located in southeastern Africa, is one of the smaller nations in the continent and covers an area of 118,484 sq. km. Completely landlocked, Malawi's main body of water is the enormous lake from which the nation gets its name. For access to the ocean, it relies on rail lines that run into port cities of Mozambique. Despite being surrounded by neighboring countries, it only shares 3 borders—a very small one with Tanzania and two others with Mozambique and Zambia

The country can be divided into four physiographic regions. These are the Great Rift Valley, the central plateau, highland region, and isolated mountains.

The Great Rift Valley traverses Malawi from north to south. As marked on the physical map of Malawi, this deep hosts Lake Malawi, the third-largest lake in Africa and one of the nation's most famous landmarks. The Shire River flows from the south end of that lake and joins the Zambezi River 249 mi (400 km) farther south in Mozambique. In the extreme south, the elevation is just slightly above sea level. It is there that Malawi's lowest point sits at the junction of the Shire River and the border of Mozambique at 37 m.

Plateaus can be found in the west and east of the Shire River. Generally between 900 and 1,200 m)above sea level, the two largest plateaus are the Nyika Plateau and the Shire Highlands. In the north, the Nyika Uplands rise as high as 2,600 m. 

The highland region, located in the south of the country is home to many hills and valleys. As the Shire River continues south, the land rises to an elevation of 1,600 m, and eventually to the country's highest point, Sapitwa Peak at 3,003 m near the Mozambique border. It has been marked on the map with a yellow upright triangle.

Isolated mountains dot the western half of the nation. Located not far from the capital city of Lilongwe, Ntchisi Mountain, and Chipata Mountain dominated the landscape. This region is the most heavily populated and contains the largest cluster of cities and towns. 

Regions and districts of Malawi Map

Malawi is divided into three regions with 28 districts. The regions are Northern, Central, and Southern. In alphabetical order, the districts are as follows: Balaka, Blantyre, Chikwawa, Chiradzulu, Chitipa, Dedza, Dowa, Karonga, Kasungu, Likoma, Lilongwe, Machinga, Mangochi, Mchinji, Mulanje, Mwanza, Mzimba, Neno, Ntcheu, Nkhata Bay, Nkhotakota, Nsanje, Ntchisi, Phalombe, Rumphi, Salima, Thyolo, and Zomba.

Mzimba in the Northern region is the largest district by area (10,619 sq. km). Lilongwe in the Central District that houses the national capital of Lilongwe is the most populous one.

Where is Malawi?

Map showing location of Malawi in the world. Europe Middle East Africa Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer Malawi

Malawi is a landlocked nation in southeastern Africa in the Southern and Eastern Hemisphere regions of the Earth. It is bordered by three countries. Mozambique bounds it on the east, south, and southwest. Tanzania borders it to the north and northeast while Zambia is located to the west.

Malawi Bordering Countries: Mozambique, Zambia, Tanzania.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Malawi

The outline map represents the country of Malawi. The map can be downloaded, printed, and used for educational purpose or coloring.

The outline map represents the African country of Malawi. 

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Malawi
Flag of Malawi
Capital City Lilongwe
13 58 S, 33 47 E
Total Area 118,484.00 km2
Land Area 94,080.00 km2
Water Area 24,404.00 km2
Population 18,628,747
Major Cities
  1. Lilongwe (1,276,316)
  2. Blantyre-Limbe (1,030,975)
Currency Malawian kwachas (MWK)
GDP $7.67 Billion
GDP Per Capita $411.55

This page was last updated on December 7, 2023

Latest by WorldAtlas