1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Burkina Faso

Maps of Burkina Faso

Physical map of Burkina Faso showing its state boundaries, relief, major rivers, extreme points, national parks, and major cities. benin togo cote d'ivoire mali mali niger mali sahel worldatlas.com

Burkina Faso is a West African landlocked country with an area of 274,200 sq. km.

Burkina Faso is located on a massive plateau that is cut deeply by the three main rivers of Black Volta, White Volta, and Red Volta. As visible on the physical map above, these rivers enter Ghana to converge and form the Volta River. 

To the southwest of Burkina Faso is a sandstone plateau that is bordered by the Banfora Escarpment. As can be seen on the map, this region hosts the country's tallest point, the 747 m high Tena Kouron. 

The lowest point of the country is the Mouhoun (Black Volta) River at 656 ft. (200 m)

As marked on the map, to the north there is a small expanse of desert.

Out of all the rivers in Burkina Faso, the Black Volta is one of two that flows year-round, with the second being the Komoe. The Niger River basin drains 27% of the surface of the country. In addition to the rivers, Burkina Faso contains numerous lakes and large ponds; even still, water shortages are a consistent problem, especially in the north as most sources are seasonal.

Regions of Burkina Faso Map

Political map of Burkina Faso displaying its 13 regions, their capitals, and the national capital of Ouagadougou.

Burkina Faso is divided into 13 regions which are then divided into 45 provinces and subdivided into 351 communes. 

The 13 regions are; Boucle du Mouhoun, Cascades, Centre, Centre-Est, Centre-Nord, Centre-Ouest, Centre-Sud, Est, Hauts-Bassins, Nord, Plateau-Central, Sahel, Sud-Ouest. With an area of 46,694 sq. km, Est is the largest region while Centre is the most populous one. Ouagadougou, the national capital city, is also located in the Centre Region.

Where is Burkina Faso?

Map showing location of Burkina Faso in the world. Europe Middle East Africa Burkina Faso Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer

Burkina Faso is a West African country located in the Northern Hemisphere region of the Earth. As it straddles the Prime Meridian, it has territories on both the Eastern and Western Hemispheres. It borders six countries. These are Benin and Togo to the southeast, Niger to the east, Mali to the north and west, Ivory Coast to the southwest, and Ghana to the south. Being a landlocked country, Burkina Faso does not have a coastline.

Burkina Faso Bordering Countries: Mali, The Niger, Ghana, Benin, Togo, Cote D'Ivoire.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Burkina Faso

Outline map of Burkina Faso

Outline map of the landlocked country of Burkina Faso, a country in West Africa.

Blank outline map of Burkina Faso

Blank outline map of Burkina Faso for coloring. Free download and print out for educational, school, or classroom use.

Key Facts

Legal Name Burkina Faso
Capital City Ouagadougou
12 22 N, 1 31 W
Independence 5 August 1960 (from France)


Total Area 274,200.00 km2
Land Area 273,800.00 km2
Water Area 400.00 km2
Total Border 3,611.0 km
Coastline 0.0 km
Bordering Countries Benin 386 km, Cote d'Ivoire 545 km, Ghana 602 km, Mali 1325 km, Niger 622 km, Togo 131 km
Climate <p>three climate zones including a hot tropical savanna with a short rainy season in the southern half, a tropical hot semi-arid steppe climate typical of the sahel region in the northern half, and small area of hot desert in the very north of the country bordering the sahara desert</p>
Coordinates 13 00 N, 2 00 W
Mean Elevation 297 m
Lowest Elevation 200 m
Mouhoun (Black Volta) River
Highest Elevation 749 m
Tena Kourou


Population 20,321,378
Major Cities
  1. Ouagadougou (2,780,331)
  2. Bobo-Dioulasso (972,124)
Ethnic Groups Mossi 52%, Fulani 8.4%, Gurma 7%, Bobo 4.9%, Gurunsi 4.6%, Senufo 4.5%, Bissa 3.7%, Lobi 2.4%, Dagara 2.4%, Tuareg/Bella 1.9%, Dioula 0.8%, unspecified/no answer 0.3%, other 7.2% (2010 est.)
Languages French (official), native African languages belonging to Sudanic family spoken by 90% of the population
Religions Muslim 61.5%, Roman Catholic 23.3%, traditional/animist 7.8%, Protestant 6.5%, other/no answer 0.2%, none 0.7% (2010 est.)


Currency Communaute Financiere Africaine francs (XOF)
GDP $15.75 Billion
GDP Per Capita $774.84
Exports Gold, cotton, livestock

This page was last updated on November 9, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas