1. Home
  2. Asia
  3. Kazakhstan

Maps of Kazakhstan

Physical Map of Kazakhstan showing relief, mountains, highest point and lowest points, major lakes, rivers, important urban centres, etc.

Kazakhstan is a country that stretches from Central Asia to Eastern Europe and occupies an area of 2,724,900 sq. km. 

As seen on the physical map of Kazakhstan above, the country extends from the Caspian Sea in the west to the Altay Mountains in the east.

A vast stretch of land accounting for nearly one-third of the country's area is the Kazakh Steppe. It is the largest dry steppe area in the world covering 804,500 sq. km. 

Kazakhstan is mountainous along its far eastern and southeastern borders, where much of the forested Altai and the Tian Shan ranges remain snowcapped throughout the year and with many elevated peaks exceeding 6,500 meters.

Kazakhstan's highest peak is Khan Tengri (marked on the map by a yellow upright triangle), whose summit reaches 22,949 ft. (6,995 m).

Along the edges of the landlocked Caspian Sea, the land dips way below sea level in some areas. In the west along its border with the Russian Federation, rolling prairies and forests dominate the landscape.

The most important rivers include the Ishim, Irtush, Syr Dayra, Tobol, and Ural. The Caspian Sea and the Aral Sea, and lakes Alakal, Balkhash, Tengiz, and Zaysan are the largest bodies of water.

The lowest point of Kazakhstan (marked by a yellow inverted triangle on the map) is the deepest point of the Karagiye depression at 132 m (433 ft) below sea level.

Regions of Kazakhstan Map

Political Map of Kazakhstan showing the 14 administrative regions and 4 cities and the capital city of Nur Sultan (known as Astana between 1998 and 2019)

Kazakhstan (officially, Republic of Kazakhstan) is divided into 14 administrative regions (Kazakh: oblystar/oblys) and 4 cities. In alphabetical order, the regions are: Akmola, Aktobe, Almaty, Atyrau, East Kazakhstan, Jambyl, Karaganda, Kostanay, Kyzylorda, Mangystau, North Kazakhstan, Pavlodar, Turkistan and West Kazakhstan. The cities are: Almaty, Baikonur, Nur-Sultan, Shymkent. The regions are further subdivided into districts (Kazakh: aỷdan).

With an area of 2,724,900 sq. km, Kazakhstan is the world’s largest landlocked country and the ninth largest country in the world. It is also the most economic dominant Nation of Central Asia. Nur-Sultan (known as Astana between 1998 and 2019) is the capital city and is located on the banks of the Ishim River in the country's northern part. With a population of over a million inhabitants, it is the second largest city in Kazakhstan. Almaty located in the mountainous region of southern Kazakhstan, is the largest city in the country, with a population of over two million inhabitants. Almaty is the major commercial and cultural centre, as well as the most populous and cosmopolitan city of Kazakhstan. 

Where is Kazakhstan?

Map showing location of Kazakhstan in the world. arctic ocean pacific ocean indian ocean australia oceania tropic of capricorn tropic of cancer arctic circle equator africa europe black sea caspian aral sea red sea gulf of aden bay of bengal arabian sea middle east mediterranean sea asia

Kazakhstan is a transcontinental country with major parts in Central Asia and a small part in Eastern Europe. It is located in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth (at the junction of Europe and Asia). It is bordered by 5 nations; the Russian Federation in the north and west; China in the east; Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan in the south. The Aral Sea is located along the southern border. The Caspian Sea is situated along the western border. 

Kazakhstan Bordering Countries: Russia, Turkmenistan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan.

Regional Maps: Map of Asia

Outline Map of Kazakhstan

Blank Outline Map of Kazakhstan

The above map is of the world's largest landlocked nation, Kazakhstan. The map can be downloaded, printed, and used for coloring and map-pointing activities.

Outline Map of Kazakhstan

The above map represents the transcontinental nation of Kazakhstan in Eurasia. It is the world's largest landlocked country. 

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Kazakhstan
Capital City Nur-Sultan
51 10 N, 71 25 E
Independence 16 December 1991 (from the Soviet Union)


Total Area 2,724,900.00 km2
Land Area 2,699,700.00 km2
Water Area 25,200.00 km2
Total Border 13,364.0 km
Coastline 0.0 km
Bordering Countries China 1765 km, Kyrgyzstan 1212 km, Russia 7644 km, Turkmenistan 413 km, Uzbekistan 2330 km
Climate Continental, cold winters and hot summers, arid and semiarid
Coordinates 48 00 N, 68 00 E
Mean Elevation 387 m
Lowest Elevation -132 m
Vpadina Kaundy
Highest Elevation 6,995 m
Khan Tangiri Shyngy (Pik Khan-Tengri)


Population 18,513,930
Major Cities
  1. Almaty (1,895,742)
  2. Astana (1,165,983)
  3. Shimkent (1,057,936)
  4. Karaganda (504,946)
  5. Aktyubinsk (431,455)
  6. Taraz (366,386)
  7. Pavlodar (335,387)
  8. Ust-Kamenogorsk (328,200)
  9. Semipalatinsk (321,351)
Ethnic Groups Kazakh (Qazaq) 68%, Russian 19.3%, Uzbek 3.2%, Ukrainian 1.5%, Uighur 1.5%, Tatar 1.1%, German 1%, other 4.4% (2019 est.)
Languages Kazakh (official, Qazaq) 83.1% (understand spoken language) and trilingual (Kazakh, Russian, English) 22.3% (2017 est.); Russian (official, used in everyday business, designated the "language of interethnic communication") 94.4% (understand spoken language) (2009 est.)
Religions Muslim 70.2%, Christian 26.2% (mainly Russian Orthodox), other 0.2%, atheist 2.8%, unspecified 0.5% (2009 est.)


Currency tenge (KZT)
GDP $180.16 Billion
GDP Per Capita $9,731.15
Exports Oil and oil products, natural gas, ferrous metals, chemicals, machinery, grain, wool, meat, coal

This page was last updated on November 9, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas