1. Home
  2. Asia
  3. Iraq

Maps of Iraq

Physical Map of Iraq showing state boundaries, relief, the Zagros Mountains, major rivers, highest point, major lakes, important cities, and more.

With an area of 437,072 sq. km, Iraq is the 58th largest country in the world. 

The country exhibits four major physiographic regions as mentioned below.

The alluvial plains cover about one-third of the country's area in the central and southeastern parts. The elevation of land here is generally below 300 feet (100 m). As observed on the physical map of Iraq, this region also features several lakes.

The  Al-Jazīrah is an upland region to the north of the alluvial plains and between the Tigris and Euphrates Rivers. The Sinjār Mountains is found here.

Iraq is mountainous further to the north and northeast, as the Zagros Mountains front its borders with Iran and Turkey. The country's highest point is located there, an unnamed peak rising 11,847 ft (3,611 m).

The Syrian Desert lies to the extreme west of Iraq.

Two of the most significant rivers in all of Asia, the Euphrates and Tigris Rivers, drain the land.

The lowest point in Iraq is at 0 ft (0 m) in the Persian Gulf.

Governorates of Iraq Map

Political Map of Iraq showing the 18 governorates, their capital cities, and the national capital of Baghdad.

Iraq (officially, Republic of Iraq) is divided into 18 governorates (muhafazat, sing- muhafazah) and 1 autonomous region. In alphabetical order, these governorates are: Al Anbar, Babil, Baghdad, Al Basrah, DiQar, Al Qadisiyah, Diyala, Dahuk, Erbil, Hewler (Halabja), Karbala, Kirkuk, Maysan, Al Muthanna, An Najaf, Ninawa (Nineveh), Salahad Din and Wasit. Kurdistan (Kurdistan Region) is an autonomous region in Iraq. These governorates are further subdivided into districts (qadhas) and sub districts (nawahi). 

Baghdad is the capital city of the Republic of Iraq. It is located in the center of the country, in the northern part of the Arabian Peninsula. Located along both the banks of the Tigris River, the city is the largest in entire Southwest Asia. Baghdad is the most populous city as well as the cultural, commercial and economic center of Iraq. 

Where is Iraq?

Map showing location of Iraq in the world.

Iraq is a sovereign Western Asian country. It is located in Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. It is bordered by six nations: Iran to the East; Kuwait to the southeast; Turkey to the north; Syria to the west; Jordan to the southwest and Saudi Arabia to the south. The country has a short 36 miles (58 km) coastline along the northern end of the Persian Gulf.

Iraq Bordering Countries: Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Syria, Turkey, Kuwait, Iran.

Regional Maps: Map of Asia

Outline Map of Iraq

Blank Outline Map of Iraq

The blank outline map represents the country of Iraq in Western Asia. The country is mostly bounded by land but has a small coast on the Persian Gulf. The map can be dowloaded, printed, and used for coloring or educational purpose.

Outline Map of Iraq

The outline map above represents the country of Iraq in Western Asia. 

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Iraq
Capital City Baghdad
33 20 N, 44 24 E
Independence 3 October 1932 (from League of Nations mandate under British administration); note - on 28 June 2004 the Coalition Provisional Authority transferred sovereignty to the Iraqi Interim Government


Total Area 438,317.00 km2
Land Area 437,367.00 km2
Water Area 950.00 km2
Total Border 3,809.0 km
Coastline 58.0 km
Bordering Countries Iran 1599 km, Jordan 179 km, Kuwait 254 km, Saudi Arabia 811 km, Syria 599 km, Turkey 367 km
Climate Mostly desert; mild to cool winters with dry, hot, cloudless summers; northern mountainous regions along iranian and turkish borders experience cold winters with occasionally heavy snows that melt in early spring, sometimes causing extensive flooding in central and southern iraq
Coordinates 33 00 N, 44 00 E
Mean Elevation 312 m
Lowest Elevation 0 m
Persian Gulf
Highest Elevation 3,611 m
Cheekha Dar (Kurdish for "Black Tent")


Population 39,309,783
Major Cities
  1. Baghdad (7,144,260)
  2. Al-Mawsil (Mosul) (1,629,932)
  3. Al-Basrah (Basra) (1,352,210)
  4. Kirkuk (1,012,614)
  5. Najaf (873,744)
  6. Irbil (Erbil) (846,374)
  7. Sulaimaniya (739,182)
  8. Amara (655,663)
  9. Nasiriyah (616,994)
  10. Hillah (604,149)
Ethnic Groups Arab 75-80%, Kurdish 15-20%, other 5% (includes Turkmen, Yezidi, Shabak, Kaka'i, Bedouin, Romani, Assyrian, Circassian, Sabaean-Mandaean, Persian)
Languages Arabic (official), Kurdish (official), Turkmen (a Turkish dialect), Syriac (Neo-Aramaic), and Armenian are official in areas where native speakers of these languages constitute a majority of the population
Religions Muslim (official) 95-98% (Shia 64-69%, Sunni 29-34%), Christian 1% (includes Catholic, Orthodox, Protestant, Assyrian Church of the East), other 1-4% (2015 est.)


Currency Iraqi dinars (IQD)
GDP $234.09 Billion
GDP Per Capita $5,955.11
Exports Crude oil 99%, crude materials excluding fuels, food, live animals

This page was last updated on October 9, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas