1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Zambia


Physical Map of Zambia

Physical Map of Zambia. It shows the physical features of Zambia including the major mountain ranges, rivers, lakes, and other natural features.
Print Map

As can be observed on the physical map of Zambia, most of the country consists of a wide plateau, with some scattered mountains (Muchinga) north and central.

The major river system, formed by the Zambezi and its tributaries - the Luangwa and Kafue Rivers - cuts into the plateau forming deep valleys and waterfalls such as Victoria Falls on the southern border with Zimbabwe. Victoria Falls, although neither the highest nor widest of waterfalls in the world, lays claim as the largest in the world based on a width of 5,604 ft. (1,708 m) and height of 354 ft. (108 m).

As marked on the map, a swamp basin surrounds Lake Bangweulu and the savanna grasslands, with woodlands and Rhodesian teak forests covering a large part of the southwest (though they are decreasing in size as the growing population demands more land).

Major lakes of Zambia include Bangweulu, Mweru and Tanganyika.

Zambia's highest point is an unnamed elevation within the Mafinga Mountains (Hills) at 8,503 ft. (2,301m); the lowest point of the country is the Zambezi River.

Like most of Southern Africa, Zambia also has rich biodiversity that is conserved in its many protected areas. National Parks of the country like the Luangwa National Park, Kafue National Park, etc., act as wildlife havens.

Provinces of Zambia Map

Political Map of Zambia displaying the 10 provinces of the country, their capital cities, and the national capital of Lusaka.
Print Map

Zambia is divided into 10 provinces. These are Central, Copperbelt, Eastern, Luapula, Lusaka, Muchinga, Northern, North-Western, Southern, and Western. These provinces are further subdivided into districts. With an area of 126,386 sq. km Western Province is the largest by area. Lusaka, which is the smallest province with an area of 21,896 sq. km, hosts the national capital city of Lusaka. It is also the most populous and the most densely populated province in the country. 

Where is Zambia?

Where is Zambia?
Print Map

Zambia is a Southern-Central African landlocked country. It is located nearly midway between the Equator and the Tropic of Capricorn in the Southern Hemisphere. Longitudinally, it is located in the Eastern Hemisphere of the world. Zambia is bordered by seven countries. It is bounded to the north by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and to the south by Zimbabwe and Botswana. Tanzania borders the country to the north-east, Malawi to the west and Mozambique to the southeast. Angola borders Zambia to the west and Namibia to the southwest. 

Zambia Bordering Countries: Namibia, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Angola, Botswana, Tanzania, The Democratic Republic Of The Congo, Malawi.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Zambia

Blank Outline Map of Zambia

The blank outline map of Zambia can be downloaded for free and printed to be used for academic purpose or coloring. 

Print Map
Outline Map of Zambia

The outline map of Zambia exhibits the unique butterfly shape of the country. This shape is caused by the Congo Pedicle (pedicle or little foot) which is the DRC's southeast salient that divides Zambia into two lobes like the two wings of a butterfly.

Print Map

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Zambia
Capital City Lusaka; note - a proposal to build a new capital city in Ngabwe was announced in May 2017
15 25 S, 28 17 E
Independence 24 October 1964 (from the UK)


Total Area 752,618 km2
Land Area 743,398 km2
Water Area 9,220 km2
Total Border 6,043 km
Coastline 0 km
Bordering Countries Angola 1065 km, Botswana 0.15 km, Democratic Republic of the Congo 2332 km, Malawi 847 km, Mozambique 439 km, Namibia 244 km, Tanzania 353 km, Zimbabwe 763 km
Climate Tropical; modified by altitude; rainy season (october to april)
Coordinates 15 00 S, 30 00 E
Mean Elevation 1,138 m
Lowest Elevation 329 m
Zambezi river
Highest Elevation 2,301 m
unnamed elevation in Mafinga Hills


Population 17,861,030
Ethnic Groups Bemba 21%, Tonga 13.6%, Chewa 7.4%, Lozi 5.7%, Nsenga 5.3%, Tumbuka 4.4%, Ngoni 4%, Lala 3.1%, Kaonde 2.9%, Namwanga 2.8%, Lunda (north Western) 2.6%, Mambwe 2.5%, Luvale 2.2%, Lamba 2.1%, Ushi 1.9%, Lenje 1.6%, Bisa 1.6%, Mbunda 1.2%, other 13.8%, unspecified 0.4% (2010 est.)
Languages Bemba 33.4%, Nyanja 14.7%, Tonga 11.4%, Lozi 5.5%, Chewa 4.5%, Nsenga 2.9%, Tumbuka 2.5%, Lunda (North Western) 1.9%, Kaonde 1.8%, Lala 1.8%, Lamba 1.8%, English (official) 1.7%, Luvale 1.5%, Mambwe 1.3%, Namwanga 1.2%, Lenje 1.1%, Bisa 1%, other 9.7%, unspecified 0.2% (2010 est.)
Religions Protestant 75.3%, Roman Catholic 20.2%, other 2.7% (includes Muslim Buddhist, Hindu, and Baha'i), none 1.8% (2010 est.)


Currency Zambian kwacha (ZMK)
GDP $23.06 Billion
GDP Per Capita $1,291.34
Exports Copper/cobalt, cobalt, electricity; tobacco, flowers, cotton

This page was last updated on September 14, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas