1. Home
  2. Asia
  3. Turkmenistan

Maps of Turkmenistan

Physical Map of Turkmenistan with state boundaries, relief, major rivers, lakes, highland areas, highest peak, important cities, and more.

The landlocked Central Asian country of Turkmenistan occupies an area of 488,100 sq. km. It has a 1,786 km long border with the Caspian Sea, the world's largest inland water body, to the west.

As observed on the physical map of Turkmenistan, most of the topography of the country is dominated by the flat Garagum (or Kara Kum) Desert (north to south), a sandy, scrubby, arid expanse of land, with very little agricultural potential.

The Kopetdag Mountain Range covers its south-central border with Iran, where earthquakes are quite common. 

The Pamir Mountain Range extends across its far eastern border - where its highest point is located, Gora Ayribaba which peaks at 3,139 m. An upright triangle marks the position of this highest point on the map.

Along the Caspian Sea and the shorelines of Sarykamish Lake, land elevations below sea level stretch inland for many miles.

The country's most significant river is the Amu Darya, which flows across and along its border with Uzbekistan. The course of the river in the country can be observed on the map above.

The lowest point of the country is located at the Akjagaýa Depression in the Lake Sarykamish area. It is -81 m below sea-level. An inverted triangle represents this point on the physical map above.

Regions of Turkmenistan Map

The political map of Turkmenistan showing its 5 administrative regions and capital city district.

Turkmenistan is divided into 5 administrative regions and one capital city district (Saher). In alphabetical order, these regions are: Ahal, Balkan, Dashoguz, Lebap, and Mary. These regions are further subdivided into districts. The country has a total of 50 districts, 24 towns, 76 villages, 553 rural councils, and 1903 rural settlements. 

With an area of 139,300 sq. km, the Balkan Region is the largest region of Afghanistan by area and the Mary Region is the most populous one.

Ashgabat is the capital and the largest city in the country.

Where is Turkmenistan?

Map showing location of Turkmenistan in the world. arctic ocean pacific ocean indian ocean australia oceania tropic of capricorn tropic of cancer arctic circle equator africa europe black sea caspian aral sea red sea gulf of aden bay of bengal arabian sea middle east mediterranean sea asia

Turkmenistan is a sovereign landlocked country. It is located in Central Asia in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. It is bordered by four Asian nations: Kazakhstan bounds it to the northwest; Uzbekistan to the north and east; Afghanistan is located to the southeast; and Iran to the south and southwest. The Caspian Sea lies to the west of the nation.

Turkmenistan Bordering Countries: Kazakhstan, Iran, Afghanistan, Uzbekistan.

Regional Maps: Map of Asia

Outline Map of Turkmenistan

Blank Outline Map of Turkmenistan

The blank outline map above represents the landlocked country of Turkmenistan in Central Asia. The map can be downloaded for free, printed, and used for educational purpose.

Outline Map of Turkmenistan

Turkmenistan is a landlocked country in Central Asia. The above outline map represents the territory of Turkmenistan.

Key Facts

Legal Name Turkmenistan
Capital City Ashgabat (Ashkhabad)
37 57 N, 58 23 E
Independence 27 October 1991 (from the Soviet Union)


Total Area 488,100.00 km2
Land Area 469,930.00 km2
Water Area 18,170.00 km2
Total Border 4,158.0 km
Coastline 0.0 km
Bordering Countries Afghanistan 804 km, Iran 1148 km, Kazakhstan 413 km, Uzbekistan 1793 km
Climate Subtropical desert
Coordinates 40 00 N, 60 00 E
Mean Elevation 230 m
Lowest Elevation -81 m
Vpadina Akchanaya (Sarygamysh Koli is a lake in northern Turkmenistan with a water level that fluctuates above and below the elevation of Vpadina Akchanaya, the lake has dropped as low as -110 m)
Highest Elevation 3,139 m
Gora Ayribaba


Population 5,942,089
Largest City

Ashgabat (846,255)

Ethnic Groups Turkmen 85%, Uzbek 5%, Russian 4%, other 6% (2003)
Languages Turkmen (official) 72%, Russian 12%, Uzbek 9%, other 7%
Religions Muslim 89%, Eastern Orthodox 9%, unknown 2%


Currency Turkmenistani manat (TMM)
GDP $40.76 Billion
GDP Per Capita $6,966.64
Exports Gas, crude oil, petrochemicals, textiles, cotton fiber

This page was last updated on November 9, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas