1. Home
  2. Europe
  3. Bulgaria

Maps of Bulgaria

Physical Map of Bulgaria showing relief, major mountain ranges, rivers, extreme points, international boundaries, surrounding seas, important cities, etc.

Noted for its diversity, Bulgaria's landscape ranges from mountainous peaks covered in snow to valleys and lowlands giving way to the coast of the Black Sea. The Balkan Mountains cut across the central part of the country, while the Rhodope Mountains run through southern Bulgaria, along its border with Greece. The highest point in the country, located in the Rila Mountains, is Musala Mt., at 9,594 ft. (2,925 m). Moving on north of the Balkan Mountains the fertile lowlands of the Danubian Plain slope gradually down to the Danube River. The south-eastern lowlands (Maritsa Basin), drained by a series of small rivers, slope to the Black Sea. Major rivers include the Danube River, as it forms the northern border with Romania, and the Iskur, Maritsa, Struma, Tundzha and Yantra rivers.

Political Map of Bulgaria showing its 28 provinces and the capital city of Sofia

Bulgaria (officially, the Republic of Bulgaria) is divided into 28 provinces (oblasti, sing. oblast). In alphabetical order, the provinces are: Blagoevgrad, Burgas, Dobrich, Gabrovo, Haskovo, Kardzhali, Kyustendil, Lovech, Montana, Pazardzhik, Pernik, Pleven, Plovdiv, Razgrad, Ruse, Shumen, Silistra, Sliven, Smolyan, Sofia, Sofia-Grad (Sofia City), Stara Zagora, Targovishte, Varna, Veliko-Tarnovo, Vidin, Vratsa and Yambol. These provinces are further subdivided into a total of 265 municipalities.

With an area of 110,999 sq. km, Bulgaria is the 16th largest country in Europe. Located on the slopes of the Vitosha Mountains and the Sofia Valley, at the center of the Balkan Peninsula is, Sofia – the capital, the largest and the most populous city of Bulgaria. It is the main cultural and commercial center of the country.

Where is Bulgaria?

Map showing location of Bulgaria in the world.

Bulgaria is a country located in the south eastern region of the European continent, occupying the eastern part of the Balkan Peninsula. It is geographically positioned both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Bulgaria is bordered by 5 countries: by Romania in the north; by Turkey and Greece in the south; by North Macedonia in the southwest and by Serbia in the west. It is bounded by the Black Sea in the east.

Bulgaria Bordering Countries: Macedonia, Greece, Turkey, Romania, Serbia.

Regional Maps: Map of Europe

Outline Map of Bulgaria

Blank Outline Map of Bulgaria

The above blank map represents Bulgaria, a southeastern European Nation, occupying the eastern part of the Balkan Peninsula. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for educational purposes like map-pointing activities and coloring.

Outline Map of Bulgaria

The above outline map represents Bulgaria, a southeast European nation. As can be observed in the map, Bulgaria has a rough rectangular outline. 

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Bulgaria
Capital City Sofia
42 41 N, 23 19 E
Independence 3 March 1878 (as an autonomous principality within the Ottoman Empire); 22 September 1908 (complete independence from the Ottoman Empire)


Total Area 110,879.00 km2
Land Area 108,489.00 km2
Water Area 2,390.00 km2
Total Border 1,806.0 km
Coastline 354.0 km
Bordering Countries Greece 472 km, Macedonia 162 km, Romania 605 km, Serbia 344 km, Turkey 223 km
Climate Temperate; cold, damp winters; hot, dry summers
Coordinates 43 00 N, 25 00 E
Mean Elevation 472 m
Lowest Elevation 0 m
Black Sea
Highest Elevation 2,925 m


Population 6,975,761
Major Cities
  1. Sofia (1,280,968)
  2. Plovdiv (346,563)
  3. Varna (335,068)
Ethnic Groups Bulgarian 76.9%, Turkish 8%, Romani 4.4%, other 0.7% (including Russian, Armenian, and Vlach), other (unknown) 10% (2011 est.)
Languages Bulgarian (official) 76.8%, Turkish 8.2%, Romani 3.8%, other 0.7%, unspecified 10.5% (2011 est.)
Religions Eastern Orthodox 59.4%, Muslim 7.8%, other (including Catholic, Protestant, Armenian Apostolic Orthodox, and Jewish) 1.7%, none 3.7%, unspecified 27.4% (2011 est.)


Currency leva (BGN)
GDP $67.93 Billion
GDP Per Capita $9,737.60
Exports Clothing, footwear, iron and steel, machinery and equipment, fuels, agriculture, tobacco, it components

This page was last updated on November 9, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas