1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Mozambique

Maps of Mozambique

Physical Map of Mozambique with state boundaries. The physical map shows the relief, major mountain ranges, peaks, rivers, lakes, etc. worldatlas.com indian ocean tanzania democratic republic of the congo zimbabwe south africa swaziland malawi zambia zambia

Mozambique occupies an area of 801,590 sq. km in Southern Africa. 

Mozambique is divided into two major topographical regions:To the north of the Zambezi river that runs almost through central Mozambique, a narrow coastline and bordering plateau slope upward into hills and a series of rugged highlands like Angonia Highlands and Lichinga Highlands (as shown on map) punctuated by scattered mountains.

South of the Zambezi River, the lowlands are much wider with scattered hills and mountains along its borders with South Africa, Swaziland and Zambia.

Monte Binga (marked on map), peaking at 2,435 m, is the highest point of Mozambique; the Indian Ocean (0 m) is the lowest.

The country is drained by several significant rivers, with the Zambezi being the largest and most important.The Zambezi is in fact the fourth-longest river in Africa, and the largest flowing into the Indian Ocean from Africa. Other important rivers flowing in Mozambique include Limpopo, Licungo, Lurio, Rovuma, and others.

Lake Malawi (Nyasa) is the country's major lake. As seen on the map, it is located on Mozambique's border with Malawi. The Cahora Bassa is Africa's fourth-largest artificial lake. A small slice of Malawi's Lake Chiuta sits in Mozambique.

Provinces of Mozambique Map

Political Map of Mozambique showing 10 provinces, their capital cities, and the national capital of Maputo.

Mozambique is divided into 10 provinces. In alphabetical order, these are as follows: Cabo Delgado, Gaza, Inhambane, Manica, Maputo, Nampula, Niassa, Sofala, Tete, Zambezia. The country also hosts one city, the Cidade de Maputo. The provinces are subdivided into 129 districts which, in turn, are divided into 405 Administrative Posts. The latter is divided into Localidades.  

With an area of 129,056 sq. km, Niassa is the biggest province of Mozambique by area while Nampula is the most populous one. 

Where is Mozambique?

Map showing location of Mozambique in the world. Europe Middle East Africa Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer Mozambique

Mozambique is a country in Southern Africa and is located in the Southern and Eastern Hemispheres of the Earth. It is bordered by six countries. These are Tanzania to the north, Zambia and Malawi to the northwest, and Zimbabwe to the west. South Africa and Eswatini border Mozambique to the southwest. The country also has a coastline on the Indian Ocean to the east. The island countries and territories of Madagascar, Comoros, and Mayotte are separated from Mozambique by the Mozambique Channel.

Mozambique Bordering Countries: Zambia, Zimbabwe, Eswatini, Tanzania, South Africa, Malawi.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Mozambique

Blank Outline Map of Mozambique

The blank outline map of Mozambique can be downloard for free and used for coloring or for map-pointing activites as part of Geography education classes. The country is located in Southern Africa and the right arm of the country is bordered by the Indian Ocean. The fork of the Y shape of the country is formed by an extension of the territory of neighboring Malawi.

Outline Map of Mozambique

The outline map represents the mainland territory of the Southern African country of Mozambique. It also has several islands on the Indian Ocean to the east. The country's shape appears like a distorted Y.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Mozambique
Capital City Maputo
25 57 S, 32 35 E
Independence 25 June 1975 (from Portugal)


Total Area 799,380.00 km2
Land Area 786,380.00 km2
Water Area 13,000.00 km2
Total Border 4,783.0 km
Coastline 2,470.0 km
Bordering Countries Malawi 1498 km, South Africa 496 km, Eswatini 108 km, Tanzania 840 km, Zambia 439 km, Zimbabwe 1402 km
Climate Tropical to subtropical
Coordinates 18 15 S, 35 00 E
Mean Elevation 345 m
Lowest Elevation 0 m
Indian Ocean
Highest Elevation 2,436 m
Monte Binga


Population 30,366,036
Major Cities
  1. Matola (1,705,886)
  2. Maputo (1,110,477)
  3. Nampula (848,096)
  4. Beira (569,911)
  5. Chimoio (425,069)
  6. Quelimane (414,813)
  7. Tete (370,650)
Ethnic Groups African 99.66% (Makhuwa, Tsonga, Lomwe, Sena, and others), Euro-African 0.2%, Indian 0.08%, European 0.06%
Languages Emakhuwa 26.1%, Portuguese (official) 16.6%, Xichangana 8.6%, Cinyanja 8.1, Cisena 7.1%, Elomwe 7.1%, Echuwabo 4.7%, Cindau 3.8%, Xitswa 3.8%, other Mozambican languages 11.8%, other 0.5%, unspecified 1.8% (2017 est.)
Religions Roman Catholic 27.2%, Muslim 18.9%, Zionist Christian 15.6%, Evangelical/Pentecostal 15.3%, Anglican 1.7%, other 4.8%, none 13.9%, unspecified 2.5% (2017 est.)


Currency meticais (MZM)
GDP $14.93 Billion
GDP Per Capita $491.80
Exports Aluminum, prawns, cashews, cotton, sugar, citrus, timber; bulk electricity

This page was last updated on November 9, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas