1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Burundi

Maps of Burundi

Physical Map of Burundi with state boundaries. Details the relief, physical features of the country, including mountain ranges, various bodies of water such as the Lake Tanganyika, major rivers, cities, extreme points, etc. worldatlas.com worldatlas.com tanzania burundi democratic republic of the congo large burundi map

As shown on the map, the small landlocked country of Burundi is located on the northeastern shoreline of Lake Tanganyika. It occupies an area of 27,834 sq. km in Central-East Africa.

Burundi has a largely hilly and mountainous terrain with the wooded Mitumba Mountains in the west giving way to a plateau eastwards. As marked on the map, the highest point in Burundi is the 2,670 m high Mount Heha located in the western mountainous region. The country's lowest point is at 772 m in Lake Tanganyika. Estimated to be the second-largest freshwater lake in the world, Lake Tanganyika is divided amongst four different countries, including Burundi. Its waters flow into the Congo River, which leads to the Atlantic Ocean. Some major rivers like Kanyaru, Malagarasi, Ruvyironza, and Rurubu have been marked on the map above. Significant lakes include the Cohoha, Rwero, and of course, Lake Tanganyika. 

Provinces of Burundi Map

The political map of Burundi shows the 18 provinces and their capital cities. The most populated province is Bubanza with a population of 338,023 people. The largest city of Burundi, and its former capital, is Bujumbura, and its current capital, Gitega, is the second largest city, located in the middle of the country. The largest province by area is Ruyigi, with 2,339 km2. 

The provinces of Burundi are: Bubanza, Bujumbura Mairie, Bujumbura Rural, Bururi, Cankuzo, Cibitoke, Gitega, Karuzi, Kayanza, Kirundo, Makamba, Muramvya, Muyinga, Mwaro, Ngozi, Rumonge, Rutana, Ruyigi.

Provinces are divided into 117 communies which are further subdivided into 2,638 collines.

Where is Burundi?

Map showing location of Burundi in the world. Europe Middle East Africa Burundi Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer

The landlocked country of Burundi is located in the Great Rift Valley in the area of convergence between East Africa and the African Great Lakes region. It lies in the Southern and Eastern Hemispheres of the Earth. Three countries border Burundi. These are Rwanda to the north, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west, and Tanzania to the southeast and east. The southwestern borders of Burundi feature the world's second deepest lake, Lake Tanganyika.

Burundi Bordering Countries: Rwanda, Tanzania, The Democratic Republic Of The Congo.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Burundi

This outline map represents the landlocked country of Burundi in Africa's Great Lakes Region. 

Blank outline map of Burundi. Can be used for coloring. Free download and print out for educational, school, or classroom use.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Burundi
Flag of Burundi
Capital City Gitega (political capital), Bujumbura (commercial capital); note - in January 2019, the Burundian parliament voted to make Gitega the political capital of the country while Bujumbura would remain its economic capital; all branches of the government are ex
3 25 S, 29 55 E
Total Area 27,830.00 km2
Land Area 25,680.00 km2
Water Area 2,150.00 km2
Population 11,530,580
Largest City

Bujumbura (1,012,996)

Currency Burundi francs (BIF)
GDP $3.01 Billion
GDP Per Capita $261.25

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas