Africa Timezone Map

Africa Timezone map

(Match the time bar color to the map color)

print this map View time zone clocks
  • UTC at Greenwich, England

  • Cape Verde / -1 hour from UTC

  • WAT + 1 hour from UTC

  • NM + 1 hours from UTCNM + 2 hours from UTC

  • CAT + 2 hours from UTC

  • EAT + 3 hours from UTC

  • SCT + 4 hours from UTC

    Mauritius, Reunion and Seychelles

Current Dates and Times across Africa

The countries of Africa are on Standard Time throughout the year.

There are a few exceptions: Canary Islands (Spain), Ceuta (Spain), Egypt, Madeira (Portugal), Melilla (Spain), Morocco, and Namibia all observe Daylight Savings Time.

Note: Namibia is in the Southern Hemisphere, so it begins Daylight Saving Time in the fall and reverts to Standard Time in the spring.

Note: The Democratic Republic of the Congo is in two time zones; CAT (Central Africa Time) and WAT (West Africa Time).

Find the Time Difference between any two cities

UTC and GMT, an update

The worldwide standard for coordinated universal time, formerly known as GMT (Greenwich Mean Time), is now abbreviated as UTC (Coordinated Universal Time).

Some sources still refer to it as UTC/GMT and some web browsers, e.g. Mozilla Firefox, still display it as GMT.

The UTC Time (shown directly below) is the standard time zone upon which all other worldwide time zones are based. It never observes daylight saving time.

For details on worldwide time zones, please refer to this page

oceansoceansoceansmediterranean seaimageimageasiaasiaeuropegraphic mapsafricadefault

Latest by WorldAtlas