1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Namibia


Physical Map of Namibia

Physical Map of Namibia showing the relief of the country and major physical features like deserts, mountains, rivers, relative location of major cities, and more.
Print Map

Namibia's extent can be divided into three topographic zones from west to east. The coastal Namib Desert runs along the country's coast on the Atlantic Ocean. It gives way to the Central Plateau to the west with the Kalahari Desert located further inwards. 

The Namib Desert is both rocky and sandy. It has an average width of around 50 to 80 miles. The elevation of the Central Plateau varies from 975 to 1,980 m. Most of the country's farmlands are confined to this region. Large parts of the plateau are covered by savanna, scrub, and woodlands. To the north, the plateau gives way to several river valleys like  Kunene and Okavango. The Orange River Valley lies to the south of this plateau. The 2,573 m tall Mount Brand, Namibia's highest mountain, is located on the western edge of the plateau.

Swakop, Kuiseb, and Fish are some of the major rivers of the country.

The Skeleton Coast of Namibia, as shown on the map, is infamous for its dense fogs that results in numerous shipwrecks in the region.

The lowest point in the country is the Atlantic Ocean at 0 m or sea level.

Regions of Namibia Map

Political Map of Namibia showing its 14 regions and their capital cities and the national capital of Windhoek.
Print Map

Namibia is divided into 14 regions for administrative efficiency. The political map of the country represents these divisions and their capital cities. In alphabetical order, these regions are as follows: Erongo, Hardap, //Karas, Kavango East, Kavango West, Khomas, Kunene, Ohangwena, Omaheke, Omusati, Oshana, Oshikoto, Otjozondjupa, Zambezi; note - the Karas Region was renamed //Karas in September 2013 to include the alveolar lateral click of the Khoekhoegowab language.

With an area of 161,514sq. km, the //Karas Region is the largest by area in the country while the Khomas Region is the most populous one. Windhoek, Namibia's capital and largest city is located in the Khomas Region.

Where is Namibia?

Where is Namibia?
Print Map

Namibia is a Southern African country located on the southwestern coast of the continent in the Southern and Eastern Hemispheres of Earth. It shares its land borders with four African countries. It is bounded by Zambia and Angola to the north, South Africa to the east and south, and Botswana to the east. A small stretch of the Zambezi River (less than 200 m) separates Namibia from Zimbabwe. The Atlantic Ocean borders it to the west. 

Namibia Bordering Countries: Zambia, Zimbabwe, Angola, Botswana, South Africa.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Namibia

Blank Outline Map of Namibia

The blank outline map respresents mainland Namibia with the Caprivi Strip. The country also has several islands on the Atlantic Ocean. The above map can be downloaded for free, and used for educational purposes like map-pointing activities.

Print Map
Outline Map of Namibia

The outline map of Namibia reresents mainland Namibia, a Southern African nation. With a long coastline on the Atlantic Ocean, Namibia has several islands as well which are not visible in the above map. Another interesting feature found on the map above is the Caprivi Strip, a geographic salient protruding from the country's northeastern corner.

Print Map

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Namibia
Capital City Windhoek
22 34 S, 17 05 E
Independence 21 March 1990 (from South African mandate)


Total Area 824,292 km2
Land Area 823,290 km2
Water Area 1,002 km2
Total Border 4,220 km
Coastline 1,572 km
Bordering Countries Angola 1427 km, Botswana 1544 km, South Africa 1005 km, Zambia 244 km
Climate Desert; hot, dry; rainfall sparse and erratic
Coordinates 22 00 S, 17 00 E
Mean Elevation 1,141 m
Lowest Elevation 0 m
Atlantic Ocean
Highest Elevation 2,573 m
Konigstein on Brandberg


Population 2,494,530
Ethnic Groups Ovambo 50%, Kavangos 9%, Herero 7%, Damara 7%, European and African ancestry 6.5%, European 6%, Nama 5%, Caprivian 4%, San 3%, Baster 2%, Tswana .5%
Languages Oshiwambo languages 49.7%, Nama/Damara 11%, Kavango languages 10.4%, Afrikaans 9.4% (common language of most of the population), Herero languages 9.2%, Zambezi languages 4.9%, English (official) 2.3%, other African languages 1.5%, other European languages .7%, other 1% (2016 est.)
Religions Christian 80% to 90% (at least 50% Lutheran), indigenous beliefs 10% to 20%


Currency Namibian dollars (NAD)
GDP $12.37 Billion
GDP Per Capita $4,957.46
Exports Diamonds, copper, gold, zinc, lead, uranium; cattle, white fish and mollusks

This page was last updated on September 14, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas