1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Cote d'Ivoire

Maps of Cote d'Ivoire

Physical Map of the Ivory Coast showing state boundaries, relief, major rivers, lakes, national parks, highest mountain, and important cities.

The Ivory Coast or Côte d'Ivoire is a country in West Africa covering an area of 322,463 sq. km.

Most of Cote d'Ivoire (north to south) is a forested plateau, one that gradually slopes down to the Atlantic Ocean coastal areas. Exceptions are the edges of the Guinea Highlands (4000 - 5000 ft. peaks) on its western border with Guinea, in the far northwest, and the elevated savanna and forest of the northeast. 

The coast of the country is about 64 km wide and is dotted with lagoons to the east. A long submarine sandbar just offshore of the coast makes the sea difficult to access. 

Extending across the middle of the country is the Guinean forest-savanna mosaic, a transition zone between the coastal forests and interior savannas.

Marked on the map with a yellow upright triangle, the highest point of Cote d'Ivoire is Mount Nimba at 1,752 m. It is located on its western highland region in the Mount Nimba Strict Nature Reserve. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The lowest point is the Gulf of Guinea (0 m). 

Major rivers, including the Bandama, Komoe and Sassandra, drain the plateau and enter the Gulf of Guinea. These rivers are not easy to navigate due to the presence of numerous waterfalls and rapids. Large lakes include Loc de Buya and Loc de Kossou and are marked on the map above.

Districts of Cote d'Ivoire Map

Political Map of Ivory Coast displaying the 14 districts including the capital city of Abidjan.

Ivory Coast has 14 districts including two cities designated as autonomous districts. The 12 non-city districts are  Bas-Sassandra, Comoe, Denguele, Goh-Djiboua, Lacs, Lagunes, Montagnes, Sassandra-Marahoue, Savanes, Vallee du Bandama, Woroba, and, Zanzan. The two cities that are autonomous districts are Abidjan and Yamoussoukro. The districts are further divided into 31 regions which are divided into 108 departments and then sub-prefectures. Abidjan is the capital city of Ivory Coast. 

Where is Cote d'Ivoire?

Where is Ivory Coast?

Ivory Coast is located in West Africa in the Western and Northern Hemispheres of the Earth. It is bordered by five countries. These are Guinea and Mali to the northwest, Liberia to the west, Burkina Faso to the northeast, and Ghana to the east. It has a coastline on the Gulf of Guinea to the south.

Cote d'Ivoire Bordering Countries: Mali, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Cote d'Ivoire

Blank Outline Map of Ivory Coast

The blank outline map represents the West African country of Ivory Coast or Côte d'Ivoire. The map can be downloaded, printed, and used for educational purposes.

Outline Map of Ivory Coast

The outline map represents the Ivory Coast or Côte d'Ivoire, a West African country with a coastline on the Gulf of Guinea.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Cote d'Ivoire
Capital City Yamoussoukro (legislative capital), Abidjan (administrative capital); note - although Yamoussoukro has been the official capital since 1983, Abidjan remains the administrative capital as well as the officially designated economic capital; the US, like oth
6 49 N, 5 16 W
Independence 7 August 1960 (from France)


Total Area 322,463 km2
Land Area 318,003 km2
Water Area 4,460 km2
Total Border 3,458 km
Coastline 515 km
Bordering Countries Burkina Faso 545 km, Ghana 720 km, Guinea 816 km, Liberia 778 km, Mali 599 km
Climate Tropical along coast, semiarid in far north; three seasons - warm and dry (november to march), hot and dry (march to may), hot and wet (june to october)
Coordinates 8 00 N, 5 00 W
Mean Elevation 250 m
Lowest Elevation 0 m
Gulf of Guinea
Highest Elevation 1,752 m
Monts Nimba


Population 25,716,544
Major Cities
  1. Abidjan (5,202,762)
  2. Bouake (571,876)
Ethnic Groups Akan 28.9%, Voltaique or Gur 16.1%, Northern Mande 14.5%, Kru 8.5%, Southern Mande 6.9%, unspecified 0.9%, non-Ivoirian 24.2% (2014 est.)
Languages French (official), 60 native dialects of which Dioula is the most widely spoken
Religions Muslim 42.9%, Catholic 17.2%, Evangelical 11.8%, Methodist 1.7%, other Christian 3.2%, animist 3.6%, other religion 0.5%, none 19.1% (2014 est.)


Currency Communaute Financiere Africaine francs (XOF)
GDP $58.79 Billion
GDP Per Capita $2,286.16
Exports Cocoa, coffee, timber, petroleum, cotton, bananas, pineapples, palm oil, fish

This page was last updated on October 12, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas