1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Nigeria

Maps of Nigeria

Physical Map of Nigeria with state boundaries. The map shows physical features like relief, highest peak, major rivers, lakes, major cities, etc.

Nigeria is a West African country occupying an area of 923,769 sq. km. 

The country's landscape features plains in the north and south. The central region has hills and plateaus. The Sokoto Plains and the Borno Plains are located in the northwestern and northeastern corners of the country respectively.

As shown on the map above, the country shares Lake Chad in the northeast with Niger, Chad and Cameroon. 

The Jos Plateau (marked on the map) is a distinct physical feature located almost at the center of the country and features massive lava surfaces and extinct volcanoes. The rest of the central plateau region has high plains, shallow river valleys, and inselbergs.

The most mountainous area of the country is located to the southeast. The position of Nigeria's highest point has been marked. It is the 2,419 m high Chappal Waddi.

The southern Atlantic coast is bordered by mangrove forests and swamps.

Lagos, the capital of Nigeria, is located on the Atlantic coast of the country.

The Niger and the Benue Rivers showed on the map are the major rivers of Nigeria.  The Niger and Benue River valleys make up Nigeria's most expansive region, merging into each other to form a distinctive 'Y' shape. The country's rivers drain into primarily three drainage basins. These are the Lake Chad, Gulf of Guinea, and Niger-Benue basin.

States of Nigeria Map

Political Map of Nigeria with 36 states, their capitals, and the Federal Capital Territory of Abuja.

Nigeria has 36 states and a Federal Capital Territory. In alphabetical order, the states are as follows: Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, Zamfara.

The states are further divided into 774 Local Government Areas. 

The Federal Capital Territory is located in Abuja, the national capital city of Nigeria. 

Where is Nigeria?

Where Is Nigeria?

Nigeria is a West African country located in the Northern and Eastern Hemispheres of the Earth. It is bordered by four countries. These are Niger, Chad, Cameroon, and Benin to the north, northeast, east, and west respectively. Nigeria also has a coastline on the Gulf of Guinea.

Nigeria Bordering Countries: Cameroon, Chad, The Niger, Benin.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Nigeria

Blank Outline Map of Nigeria

The blank outline map represents mainland Nigeria. The map can be downloaded for free and used for coloring or educational purposes like map-pointing activities.

Outline Map of Nigeria

The outline map represents the mainland territory of the sovereign country of Nigeria. It also has several islands on the South Atlantic Ocean. 

Key Facts

Legal Name Federal Republic of Nigeria
Capital City Abuja
9 05 N, 7 32 E
Independence 1 October 1960 (from the UK)


Total Area 923,768 km2
Land Area 910,768 km2
Water Area 13,000 km2
Total Border 4,477 km
Coastline 853 km
Bordering Countries Benin 809 km, Cameroon 1975 km, Chad 85 km, Niger 1608 km
Climate Varies; equatorial in south, tropical in center, arid in north
Coordinates 10 00 N, 8 00 E
Mean Elevation 380 m
Lowest Elevation 0 m
Atlantic Ocean
Highest Elevation 2,419 m
Chappal Waddi


Population 200,963,599
Major Cities
  1. Lagos (14,368,332)
  2. Kano (3,999,050)
  3. Ibadan (3,551,961)
  4. Abuja (3,277,740)
  5. Port Harcourt (3,020,232)
  6. Benin City (1,727,169)
  7. Onitsha (1,414,790)
  8. Uyo (1,135,775)
  9. Kaduna (1,113,210)
  10. Aba (1,081,466)
Ethnic Groups Hausa 30%, Yoruba 15.5%, Igbo (Ibo) 15.2%, Fulani 6%, Tiv 2.4%, Kanuri/Beriberi 2.4%, Ibibio 1.8%, Ijaw/Izon 1.8%, other 24.7% (2018 est.)
Languages English (official), Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo (Ibo), Fulani, over 500 additional indigenous languages
Religions Muslim 53.5%, Roman Catholic 10.6%, other Christian 35.3%, other .6% (2018 est.)


Currency nairas (NGN)
GDP $448.12 Billion
GDP Per Capita $2,229.86
Exports Petroleum and petroleum products 95%, cocoa, rubber (2012 est.)

This page was last updated on October 12, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas