1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Botswana

Maps of Botswana

Physical Map of Botswana with state boundaries. The map also displays the physical features of Botswana including relief, major rivers and lakes, the Okavango Delta, extreme points, desert area, and major cities. worldatlas.com worldatlas.com zimbabwe zambia angola namibia south africa tropic of capricorn kalahari desert

Botswana is a Southern African country covering an area of 581,730 sq. km. 

The physical map of Botswana illustrates the country's physical characteristics. The country sits on a flat southern African plateau. The Kalahari Desert blankets the country to the center and southwest while in the north, the Okavango Delta provides a thriving oasis, with numerous salt lakes. The Makgadikgadi Pan is located in the middle of the dry savanna and additional landforms include savanna grasslands in the east and a dry scrub along the western border with Namibia

Significant rivers as marked on the map include the Limpopo, Okavango, and Shashe with the Molopo River creating a geographical border between South Africa and Botswana. Botswana's highest point is Tsodilo Hills at 1,489 m; the lowest point is a junction of the Limpopo and Shashe Rivers at 513 m.

    Districts of Botswana Map

    Botswana is divided into 17 administrative divisions called districts. It includes 10 rural and 7 urban districts. These districts are further subdivided into sub-districts.

    In alphabetical order, the districts are as follows: Central, Chobe, Francistown, Gaborone, Ghanzi, Jwaneng, Kgalagadi, Kgatleng, Kweneng, Lobatse, North East, North West, Orapa, Selebi-Phikwe, South East, Southern, Sowa Town

    With an area of 142,076 sq. km, Central District is the largest by area and also the most populous one. 

    The capital and largest city of Gaborone is located in the district of the same name.

    Where is Botswana?

    Map showing location of Botswana in the world. Europe Middle East Africa Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer

    The Southern African country of Botswana is located in the Southern and Eastern Hemispheres of the world. It is a landlocked country bordered by four countries - Namibia to the north and west, South Africa to the south and southeast, Zimbabwe to the northeast, and it also borders Zambia to the north for only a few hundred meters.

    Botswana Bordering Countries: Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa.

    Regional Maps: Map of Africa

    Outline Map of Botswana

    This outline map shows the entire country of Botswana, a landlocked country in Southern Africa surrounded by four countries.

    Blank outline map of Botswana, a landlocked Southern African country. Can be used for coloring. Free download and print out for educational, school, or classroom use.

    Key Facts

    Legal Name Republic of Botswana
    Flag of Botswana
    Capital City Gaborone
    24 38 S, 25 54 E
    Total Area 581,730.00 km2
    Land Area 566,730.00 km2
    Water Area 15,000.00 km2
    Population 2,303,697
    Currency Pulas (BWP)
    GDP $18.34 Billion
    GDP Per Capita $7,961.34

    This page was last updated on April 14, 2023

    Latest by WorldAtlas