Map of Europe

How Many Countries Are In Europe?

Europe is the second-smallest continent covering an area of 10,180,000 sq. km and occupying the western portion of the Eurasian landmass. As per the latest census, about 745,173,774 people live in Europe, accounting for 10% of the world’s population. There are, at present, 44 countries in Europe, according to the UN. The United Nations geoscheme for Europe has divided the continent into different regions. As per this scheme, there are ten countries in Northern Europe, ten in Eastern Europe, nine in Western Europe, and fifteen in Southern Europe. This list, however, does not include the transcontinental nations, having territories in both Asia and Europe, and in which a significant portion of their population resides in Asia rather than Europe.

Northern Europe

Northern europe map
Map of Northern European countries.

Northern Europe is made up of ten sovereign nations. These ten countries are Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Sweden, and United Kingdom. Northern Europe is further subdivided into three regions: the Baltic region, the British Isles, and Scandinavia. Countries like Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia form a part of the Baltic region; the United Kingdom and Ireland form a part of the British Isles; and the remaining countries like Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden form a part of Scandinavia. As per the latest census, Northern Europe has a population of 107,430,527 inhabitants. The United Kingdom, with a population of 66,834,400 residents, is the region’s most populous nation. Iceland, with a population of 361,310 residents, is the region’s least populous nation.

Eastern Europe

eastern european countries
Map of Eastern European countries.

Eastern Europe comprises ten sovereign nations. These ten countries are Belarus, Bulgaria, Czechia, Hungary, Poland, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, the Russian Federation, Slovakia, and Ukraine. A significant portion of Eastern Europe is occupied by Russia, which covers an area of 17,098,246 sq. km, and supports a population of 144,373,540 residents, making it the biggest and most populous nation in all of Europe. The region’s least populated nation is the Republic of Moldova, which supports a population of 2,657,640 inhabitants. It is to be noted that Russia is one of the transcontinental countries, but for statistical convenience, the United Nations Statistics Division placed it under Eastern Europe.

Western Europe

Western european countries
Map of Western European countries.

Western Europe is made up of nine sovereign nations. These nine countries are Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, and Switzerland. Approximately 196 million people live in Western Europe, about 80% of whom live in urban centers. Western Europe is also one of the world’s richest regions and is home to some of the European continent’s biggest cities like Paris, Berlin, Vienna, Hamburg, Marseille, Zurich, Cologne, Amsterdam, etc. Having a population of 83,132,800 inhabitants, Germany is Western Europe’s most populous country and Europe’s second-most populous country. Germany also has Europe’s highest GDP and the biggest financial surplus of any country. With a population of 38,020 inhabitants, Liechtenstein is the region’s least populated nation. Except for Liechtenstein, Switzerland, and Monaco, all other Western European countries are Member States of the European Union.

Southern Europe

Southern European countries
Map of Southern European countries.

Also referred to as Mediterranean Europe, Southern Europe is made up of fifteen sovereign nations. These fifteen countries are Albania, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Malta, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Portugal, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, and Vatican City. More than 150 million people reside in Southern Europe. Spain, Italy, and Greece are the three largest countries in Southern Europe by area, while Vatican City, Malta, and San Marino are the region’s three smallest countries by area. Having a population of 60,297,400 inhabitants, Italy is Southern Europe’s most populous country, while Vatican City, with only 825 residents, is the region’s as well as Europe’s least populous country.

Transcontinental Countries

Transcontinental countries are nations that have territories on two continents, in this case, both Asia and Europe. Russia, Turkey, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Armenia, and Cyprus are some of the transcontinental countries. It is to be noted that except for Russia, a significant population of the above-mentioned transcontinental countries reside in Asia and are thus not considered among the 44 European counties. A major part of Russia’s population resides in its European portion, located to the west of the Ural Mountains.

If Turkey was considered a portion of Southern Europe, then Turkey, with a population of 83,429,620 inhabitants, would have been Europe’s second-most populous nation. However, a bulk of Turkey’s population resides in the country’s Asian region in Anatolia. Only a small portion of Turkey which is placed on the Balkan Peninsula of Southeastern Europe hosts Istanbul – Turkey’s biggest city, with a population of more than 15, 840,900 inhabitants.

Countries Of Europe

Rank Country Population Area (in sq. km)
1 Russia 144,373,540 17,098,242
- Turkey 83,429,620 783,562
2 Germany 83,132,800 357,022
3 France 67,059,890 643,801
4 United Kingdom 66,834,400 243,610
5 Italy 60,297,400 301,340
6 Spain 47,076,780 505,370
7 Ukraine 44,385,150 603,550
8 Poland 37,970,870 312,685
9 Romania 19,356,540 238,391
- Kazakhstan 18,513,930 2,724,900
10 Netherlands 17,332,850 41,543
11 Belgium 11,484,060 30,528
12 Greece 10,716,320 131,957
13 Czech Republic 10,669,710 78,867
14 Sweden 10,285,450 450,295
15 Portugal 10,269,420 92,090
- Azerbaijan 10,023,320 86,600
16 Hungary 9,769,950 93,028
17 Belarus 9,466,860 207,600
18 Austria 8,877,070 83,871
19 Switzerland 8,574,830 41,277
20 Bulgaria 6,975,760 110,879
21 Serbia 6,944,980 77,474
22 Denmark 5,818,550 43,094
23 Finland 5,520,310 338,145
24 Slovakia 5,454,070 49,035
25 Norway 5,347,900 323,802
26 Ireland 4,941,440 70,273
27 Croatia 4,067,500 56,594
- Georgia 3,720,380 69,700
28 Bosnia and Herzegovina 3,301,000 51,197
- Armenia 2,957,730 29,743
29 Albania 2,854,190 28,748
30 Lithuania 2,786,840 65,300
31 Moldova 2,657,640 33,851
32 Slovenia 2,087,950 20,273
33 North Macedonia 2,083,460 25,713
34 Latvia 1,912,790 64,589
35 Estonia 1,326,590 45,228
- Cyprus 1,198,580 9,251
36 Montenegro 622,140 13,812
37 Luxembourg 619,900 2,586
38 Malta 502,650 316
39 Iceland 361,310 102,775
40 Andorra 77,140 468
41 Monaco 38,960 2.02
42 Liechtenstein 38,020 160
43 San Marino 33,860 61.2
44 Vatican City 825 0.49

More in Geography