1. Home
  2. Europe
  3. Netherlands

Maps of The Netherlands

Physical Map of the Netherlands showing relief, international boundaries, major rivers,  extreme points, important cities, islands, etc.

As observed on the physical map of the Netherlands, it is a very flat country with almost 25% of its land at, or below sea level. The country covers a total area of 41,865 sq. km. 

Low rolling hills cover some of the central areas, and in the far south, the land rises into the foothills of the Ardennes Mountains. Vaalserberg, the country's highest point is located there, rising to 322 m (1,053 ft). A yellow upright triangle marks its position on the map. It is found where the Netherlands meets Germany and Belgium.

Stretched along the northern coastline, the West Frisian Islands continue to the northeast, becoming the German East Frisian Islands. These barrier islands, separated from the mainland by the Waddenzee, provide a small level of protection from the North Sea.

The Netherlands is crossed by hundreds of miles of navigable canals. One of the most important is the North Sea Canal, as it enables ocean-going ships to reach the port of Amsterdam. Satellite picture here!

Water, water everywhere, as the central and southern Netherlands are positioned at the delta of four major rivers, including the Rijn, Mass, Scheldt and Waal.

The country's largest lakes, Ijsselmeer and Markermeer are both manmade, created by dikes.

The lowest point in the country is 'Nieuwekerk aan den Ijssel' at 6,76 m below sea level. An inverted triangle marks its position on the map above.

Provinces of The Netherlands Map

The Netherlands is divided into 12 administrative regions or provinces (provincies, singular - provincie). In alphabetical order, these provinces are: Drenthe, Flevoland, Fryslan (Friesland), Gelderland, Groningen, Limburg, Noord-Brabant (North Brabant), Noord-Holland (North Holland), Overijssel, Utrecht, Zeeland (Zealand) and Zuid-Holland (South Holland). These provinces are further subdivided into 355 municipalities (gemeenten). The three overseas special municipalities namely, Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius in the Caribbean Netherlands, are not part of any province.

With more than 3.7 million people, the province of South Holland is the most densely populated province in Netherlands. Located in the western part of the country, in North Holland province is, Amsterdam – the capital and the most populous city of Netherlands. Amsterdam is the major cultural, commercial and economic hub of the country, with the Port of Amsterdam being the 5th largest port in Europe. Situated in the western part of the country, in South Holland province, The Hague is the administrative center of the country and houses the important government institutions of Netherlands, as well as the International Court of Justice.

Where is The Netherlands?

Map showing location of The Netherlands in the world.

The Netherlands is a country located in Northwestern Europe. It is geographically positioned both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. The Netherlands is bordered by Germany in the east; and Belgium in the south. It is bounded by the North Sea in the north and west. The Netherlands shares its maritime borders with UK and France.

Netherlands Bordering Countries: Belgium, Germany.

Regional Maps: Map of Europe

Outline Map of The Netherlands

The Netherlands is a sovereign nation in northwest Europe. The outline map above represents the country. It can be downloaded, printed, and used for coloring or geography education.

The Netherlands is a country in northwestern Europe with a coastline on the North Sea to the north. The country occupies territory on mainland Europe as well as has several islands in the North Sea.

Key Facts

Legal Name Kingdom of the Netherlands
Flag of Netherlands
Capital City Amsterdam; note - The Hague is the seat of government
52 21 N, 4 55 E
Total Area 41,543.00 km2
Land Area 33,893.00 km2
Water Area 7,650.00 km2
Population 17,332,850
Major Cities
  1. Amsterdam (1,148,972)
  2. Rotterdam (1,010,026)
  3. s-Gravenhage (The Hague) (697,564)
  4. Utrecht (544,389)
  5. Eindhoven (358,966)
Currency Euros (EUR)
GDP $909.07 Billion
GDP Per Capita $52,447.83

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas