1. Home
  2. Europe
  3. Poland

Maps of Poland

Physical Map of Poland showing relief, international boundaries, major rivers, mountain ranges, extreme points, important cities, etc.

Poland is a Central European country covering an area of 312,696 sq. km in Central Europe.

As seen on the physical map above, the country has a coastline on the Baltic Sea to the north. The coastline is fairly smooth with beaches and sand dunes but indented by scattered low-rising cliffs.

From the Baltic lowlands, Poland's land rises gently into tree-covered hilly areas, with some higher elevations in the Pomeranian Lake District in the northeast.

The northern regions are somewhat hilly. Flat fertile farmlands and river valleys dominate the Central Lowlands that blend into a hillier area to the south of the Vistula River.

The southern third of the country is a mountainous region. Major ranges include the Sudetes, and the Tatra Mountains which are the most elevated part of the Carpathian Mountains. Poland has 21 mountains over 2,000 m (6,600 ft) in elevation, and all are located in the Tatras, along the border with Slovakia. Poland's measured highest-point is Mt. Rysy in the High Tatras; it stands at 2,499 m (8,199 ft) in elevation. The lowest point in Poland at -1.8 m (-5.7 ft) is located at Raczki Elblaskie in the Vistula Delta.

Marked on the map above is the Bledow Desert that is located in southern Poland. It is only one of five natural deserts in Europe. It has a total area of 32 sq km (12 sq mi). Some of its dunes extend up to 30 m (98 ft).

The Oder, Vistula and Warta are the country's major rivers. The longest river in Poland is the Vistula at 1,047 km (651 mi) long. It is followed by the Oder which forms part of Poland's western border, at 854 km (531 mi) long.

Poland has hundreds of small lakes, and in Europe, only Finland has a greater density of lakes. Numerous small lakes dot the far northeast. 

Voivodeships of Poland Map

Political Map of Poland showing its 16 voivodeships and the capital city Warsaw.

Poland (officially, the Republic of Poland) is divided into 16 voivodeships [provinces] (wojewodztwa, sing. wojewodztwo). In alphabetical order, these voivodeships are: Dolnoslaskie (Lower Silesian), Kujawsko-Pomorskie (Kuyavian-Pomeranian), Lubelskie (Lublin), Lubuskie (Lubusz), Lodzkie (Lodz), Malopolskie (Lesser Poland), Mazowieckie (Masovian), Opolskie (Opole), Podkarpackie (Subcarpathian), Podlaskie, Pomorskie (Pomeranian), Slaskie (Silesian),Swietokrzyskie (Holy Cross), Warminsko-Mazurskie (Warmian-Masurian), Wielkopolskie (Greater Poland) and Zachodniopomorskie (West Pomeranian).

With an area of 312,696 sq. km, and a population of over 38 million, Poland is the 5th most populous member of EU. Poland serves as the geographical and cultural crossroads of Eastern and Western Europe. Located in the east-central part of the country, Warsaw is the capital and the largest city of Poland. It is also the administrative, cultural and economic center of the country. Warsaw is the 7th most populous capital city in EU.

Where is Poland?

Map showing location of Poland in the world. Oceans of the World Oceans of the World Map of the Denmark Strait Greenland Map Strait of Gibraltar European Map Asian Map Kazakhstan Turkey Map and Information European Russia Map of the Equator Map of the Equator Polar Caps Map Italy Mediterranean Sea Information Custom Maps Africa Map Middle Eastern Map Middle Eastern Map Middle Eastern Map Middle Eastern Map Map of the Middle East Map of the Middle East Map of the Middle East Map of the Middle East African Map African Map African Map African Map Norwegian Sea Map North Sea Map Baltic Sea Information Barents Sea Information Kara Sea Information English Channel Map and Information Bay of Biscay Black Sea Caspian Sea Greenland Sea Map Red Sea Map

Poland is a Central European country. It is positioned both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Poland is bordered by 7 nations: by Germany in the west; the Czech Republic in the southwest; Slovakia in the south; Ukraine  in the southeast; Belarus in the east; Lithuania and Russia in the northeast. Poland is bordered in the north by the Baltic Sea. The country shares its maritime borders with Denmark and Sweden.

Poland Bordering Countries: Ukraine, Russia, Slovakia, Germany, The Czech Republic, Belarus, Lithuania.

Regional Maps: Map of Europe

Outline Map of Poland

Blank Outline Map of Poland

The above map represents Poland. The map can be downloaded, printed, and used for coloring or map-pointing activities.

Outline Map of Poland

The above map is of the Central European country of Poland. To the north, the Baltic Sea borders Poland.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Poland
Capital City Warsaw
52 15 N, 21 00 E
Independence 11 November 1918 (republic proclaimed); notable earlier dates: 966 (adoption of Christianity, traditional founding date), 1 July 1569 (Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth created)


Total Area 312,685.00 km2
Land Area 304,255.00 km2
Water Area 8,430.00 km2
Total Border 3,071.0 km
Coastline 440.0 km
Bordering Countries Belarus 418 km, Czech Republic 796 km, Germany 467 km, Lithuania 104 km, Russia (Kaliningrad Oblast) 210 km, Slovakia 541 km, Ukraine 535 km
Climate Temperate with cold, cloudy, moderately severe winters with frequent precipitation; mild summers with frequent showers and thundershowers
Coordinates 52 00 N, 20 00 E
Mean Elevation 173 m
Lowest Elevation -2 m
near Raczki Elblaskie
Highest Elevation 2,499 m


Population 37,970,874
Major Cities
  1. Warszawa (Warsaw) (1,783,251)
  2. Kraków (Cracow) (768,731)
  3. Łódź (676,830)
  4. Wrocław (641,401)
  5. Poznań (531,030)
  6. Gdańsk (465,475)
  7. Szczecin (401,370)
  8. Bydgoszcz (347,522)
  9. Lublin (334,720)
Ethnic Groups Polish 96.9%, Silesian 1.1%, German 0.2%, Ukrainian 0.1%, other and unspecified 1.7% (2011 est.)
Languages Polish (official) 98.2%, Silesian 1.4%, other 1.1%, unspecified 1.3% (2011 est.)
Religions Catholic 85.9% (includes Roman Catholic 85.6% and Greek Catholic, Armenian Catholic, and Byzantine-Slavic Catholic .3%), Orthodox 1.3% (almost all are Polish Autocephalous Orthodox), Protestant 0.4% (mainly Augsburg Evangelical and Pentacostal), other 0.4% (includes Jehovah's Witness, Buddhist, Hare Krishna, Gaudiya Vaishnavism, Muslim, Jewish, Mormon), unspecified 12.1% (2017 est.)


Currency zlotych (PLN)
GDP $592.16 Billion
GDP Per Capita $15,595.23
Exports Machinery and transport equipment 37.8%, intermediate manufactured goods 23.7%, miscellaneous manufactured goods 17.1%, food and live animals 7.6% (2012 est.)

This page was last updated on November 9, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas