1. Home
  2. Europe
  3. Spain

Maps of Spain

Physical Map of Spain showing its relief, state boundaries, mountains, extreme points, major lakes, rivers, important cities, etc. Map of France, France Information Andorra Map and Information Algeria Map Morocco Map Map of Africa Gibralter Map Map of the Worlds Oceans Mediterranean Sea Information Map of Gibralter Canary Islands Custom made maps Large color map of Spain Balearic Islands Spain map Pyrenees Mountains Portugal Map and Information Bay of Biscay

Occupying most of the Iberian Peninsula's land area (approximately 85%), Spain is the third-largest country in Europe and 45% is covered by the Meseta Plateau.

As observed on the physical map of Spain, the terrain of the land is highly undulating. That plateau is rarely flat, and is in reality a mostly hilly highland area divided by the Cordillera Central (mountains), and then ringed by additional mountain ranges, north, east and south. In the west the Meseta slopes gently down into neighboring Portugal.

Significant mountains in Spain include the limestone Cordillera Cantabrica and rugged Sistema Iberico (north); massive Pyrenees (northeast) where many peaks exceed 3,000 meters; the deeply eroded and rocky Sierra de Cuenca(east), and the lower Montes de Toledo and Serrania de Cuenca (south-central).

In the far south the mountains of the Cordillera Betica and Sierra Nevada dominate the landscape. Mainland Spain's highest point (Mulhacen at 3,481 meters) stands in the Sierra Nevada. It has been marked on the map by a yellow triangle.

Significant lowlands include the fertile Andalusian Plain in the southwest, and the Ebro River Basin in the northeast. In addition, much of Spain is fronted by a low and narrow coastal plain, one that separates the mountains from the sea.

Those deeply indented coastal areas include countless bays and coves, and most have sandy beaches. In the far northwest, along the Bay of Biscay, rugged cliffs front the coastline.

In the far south, the Strait of Gibraltar separates Spain and Europe from Morocco (Africa), and here, the two continents are only 13 km (8 miles) apart.

The country is drained by an estimated 1,500 rivers (mostly small). The longest and most significant rivers include the Douro (Duero), Ebro, Jucar, Tagus (Tejo), Guadiana and Guadalquivir.

Communities of Spain Map

Spain (officially, the Kingdom of Spain) is divided into 17 autonomous communities (comunidades autonomas, sing. comunidad autonoma) and 2 autonomous cities (ciudades autonomas, sing. ciudad autonoma). The autonomous communities are: Andalusia, Catalonia (Catalan), Madrid, Comunitat Valenciana [Valencian Community], Galicia, Castilla-Leon, Euskadi (Basque) [Basque Country], Castilla-La Mancha, Canarias (Canary Islands), Murcia, Aragon, Extremadura, Illes Baleares (Balearic Islands), Asturias, Navarre (Castilian), Cantabria, and La Rioja. The 2 autonomous cities are: Ceuta and Melilla. The autonomous communities are further subdivided into provinces and smaller subdivisions.

With an area of 505,990 sq. km, Spain is the largest country in Southern Europe and the 4th largest country in the continent of Europe. It is also the 2nd largest country in Western Europe and EU. Spain has a population of over 47 million, making it the 6th most populous country in Europe and the 4th most populous country in EU. Located in the central part of the country is, Madrid – the capital, the largest and the most populous city of Spain. Madrid is also the cultural, administrative and economic center of Spain. Madrid functions as an important financial hub of Southern Europe.

Where is Spain?

Map showing location of Spain in the world. Oceans of the World Oceans of the World Map of the Denmark Strait Greenland Map Strait of Gibraltar European Map Asian Map Kazakhstan Turkey Map and Information European Russia Map of the Equator Map of the Equator Polar Caps Map Italy Mediterranean Sea Information Custom Maps Africa Map Middle Eastern Map Middle Eastern Map Middle Eastern Map Middle Eastern Map Map of the Middle East Map of the Middle East Map of the Middle East Map of the Middle East African Map African Map African Map African Map Norwegian Sea Map North Sea Map Baltic Sea Information Barents Sea Information Kara Sea Information English Channel Map and Information Bay of Biscay Black Sea Caspian Sea Greenland Sea Map Red Sea Map

Spain is a country located on the Iberian Peninsula in South Western Europe. It is situated in both Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Spain is bordered by 5 countries: by Portugal in the west, by France and Andorra in the northeast, by Gibraltar and Morocco (the Spanish territories of Ceuta and Melilla in North Africa), in the south. The country is bounded by the Mediterranean Sea in the east and southeast, by the Atlantic Ocean in the northwest and southwest and by the Bay of Biscay in the north. Spain shares its maritime borders with Algeria and Italy.

Spain Bordering Countries: Morocco, Gibraltar, Portugal, Andorra.

Regional Maps: Map of Europe

Outline Map of Spain

The above blank outline map is of the European country of Spain. The map maybe downloaded and printed to be used for coloring or educational purpose.

The about map represents Spain, a country in South Western Europe well-known for its unique and vibrant Spanish culture.

Key Facts

Legal Name Kingdom of Spain
Flag of Spain
Capital City Madrid
40 24 N, 3 41 W
Total Area 505,370.00 km2
Land Area 498,980.00 km2
Water Area 6,390.00 km2
Population 47,076,781
Major Cities
  1. Madrid (6,617,513)
  2. Barcelona (5,585,556)
  3. Valencia (833,724)
  4. Zaragoza (730,828)
  5. Sevilla (703,790)
  6. Malaga (590,032)
  7. Murcia (499,783)
  8. Palma (467,005)
  9. Las Palmas Gran Canaria (401,900)
  10. Alicante (369,758)
Currency Euros (EUR)
GDP $1.39 Trillion
GDP Per Capita $29,613.67

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas