1. World Map/
  2. Europe /

European Union Members and Flag

European Union Members

(as of January 1, 2014)

identifies the original twelve members

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom

Newest EU Members

In addition to the original members of the European Union (EU), Austria, Finland and Sweden joined on January 1, 1995, and then on May 1, 2004, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia and the Mediterranean islands of Cyprus and Malta joined. Bulgaria and Romania joined on January 1, 2007.

Currently Croatia, Macedonia and Turkey are candidate countries.

EU currency information

eu flag

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on June 16, 2020.