Which Countries Make Up Central Europe?

The city square of Frankfurt, Germany. Germany is considered to be part of Central Europe.

Central Europe is the region between western and Eastern Europe. It consists of nine countries:

  • Austria
  • Czech Republic
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Liechtenstein
  • Poland
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Switzerland

Politically, Europe is divided into Eastern and Western Europe. Depending on the context, the countries can either be part of Western Europe or individually be part of Eastern Europe. Croatia is a notable exception when central European nations listed but in some instances, it is included as part of the region or as part of Southeastern Europe.

Which Countries Make Up Central Europe?

The Geography of Central Europe

The boundary between Central Europe and Northern Europe is well-defined, as is the boundary with Southern Europe. The region above the Baltic Sea is known as Northern Europe while the region south of the Alps is known as Southern Europe. However, the boundaries distinguishing Central and Eastern Europe are not well defined due to cultural similarity across the two regions. The countries of Northern Europe and Southern Europe are sometimes included in Western Europe or Central Europe, but countries associated with the former soviet union and are located towards the Ural mountains including Russia are never included.

The Demographic Of Central Europe

The population of the individual countries of Central Europe varies. Germany is the most populated country with 82 million people while Poland ranks second with 39 million people. The least populated are Liechtenstein with less than 40,000, Slovenia at 2 million, and Croatia at 4.3 million.

The Economy Of Central Europe

All countries of Central Europe are members of the European Union except for Liechtenstein and Switzerland. The region is known as the heart of Europe due to its economic importance. The countries are listed as highly developed and rank highly in the human development Index. Germany is Europe and Central Europe’s largest economy. The euro is the mutually used currency with the exception of Croatia, Hungary, Poland, Switzerland and the Czech Republic which have their own currencies.

Cooperation In Central Europe

The main objective of Central Europe is to enhance cooperation among member countries and to implement smart solutions to challenges. Key programs in the region include innovation to improve the competitiveness of the region, strategies to reduce carbon emission, cultural and natural resource management, and ease of transport among the member countries.

Which Countries Make Up Central Europe?

6Czech Republic

More in Society