4-Letter Countries

Peru's Machu Picchu was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1983.

Today, the world has 195 countries, and of this total, 11 have English names that consist of four letters. Some of the nations with four-letter names include Peru, Iraq, and Cuba.

4 Letter Countries


Located in the western part of South America, the Republic of Peru has a unitary presidential republic government. The country’s name may have arisen from a local ruler’s name, Birú, in the early 16th century. While under Spanish rule, the nation was named the Viceroyalty of Peru, and later became the Republic of Peru after gaining independence from Spain. Peru has a total area of 496,225 square miles and its population was estimated at more than 32 million people in 2018. Spanish is the official and most commonly spoken language in Peru. As of 2017, 45% of the population identified as Amerindian, while Whites and Blacks make up 15% and 1.3% of the population, respectively. According to the 2007 census, Roman Catholicism was the predominant religious group (81.33%), followed by Protestantism (12.50%).


According to the 2005 Constitution, the country’s official name is the Republic of Iraq. The Arabic name Iraq has been used since the 6th century, and according to Arabic folklore, the name means “fertile” or “deeply rooted, well-watered.” Located in Western Asia and covering 168,754 square miles, Iraq ranks 58th in the world in terms of area. The country is governed as a federal parliamentary republic and had a population of more than 37 million people in 2016. Arabs and Kurds are the main ethnic groups in Iraq, forming about 80% and 15% of the population, respectively. Arabic is the most commonly spoken language in Iraq, while Islam is the predominant religion.


Located in the northern part of the Caribbean, the Republic of Cuba is believed to have derived its name from the Taino language. The meaning of the name is unclear, although it can be translated as “great place” or “where fertile land is abundant.” The country has a total area of 42,426 square miles and a population of more than 11 million according to the 2016 census. Cuba is governed as a unitary Marxist-Leninist one-party socialist republic. Spanish is Cuba’s official and most commonly spoken language. According to the Pew Forum in 2010, Cuba has the following religious affiliations: Christian (65%) Christian, unaffiliated (23%), and folk religion (17%). The largest Christian denomination in Cuba is Roman Catholicism, which has its origins in the period of Spanish rule.

Other 4 Letter Countries

Other countries that have a four letter name are: Chad, Fiji, Iran, Laos, Mali, Niue, Oman, and Togo. Asia has the majority (four) of these nations, while Africa has three. Two states are located in the South Pacific Ocean, while South America and the Northern Caribbean each have one state. A region such as Guam, which is a territory of the United States in the Pacific Ocean, also has four letters in its name.

4 Letter Countries

Four Letter Countries

More in World Facts