What Is The Capital City Of Iran?

Tehran is located at the foot of the Elburz mountain range.
Tehran is located at the foot of the Elburz mountain range.

Where Is Iran?

The Middle Eastern sovereign nation of Iran, formerly known as Persia, is home to more than 81 million people. It has an area of 1,648,195 square km. The country has a shoreline along the Caspian Sea to the north, and is bordered by several countries. The Gulf of Oman and the Persian Gulf borders the country to the south. The eastern borders of Iran are formed by Pakistan and Afghanistan. Iraq and Turkey are the western neighbors of the nation. Turkmenistan has a border with Iran to the northeast.

What Type of Government Does Iran Have?

Iran has a theocratic government where Islamic ideologies guide the political activities in the country. There are three branches of government in the country, the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial systems. The President of Iran serves as the head of government and is an elected representative. The parliament of the country is called the Majlis. The Supreme Leader is the head of state of Iran, the highest religious and political authority in the country.

What Is the Capital of Iran?

Tehran is Iran’s capital city. It is also the capital of the Iranian province with which it shares its name. Tehran hosts a population of around 8.4 million in the city. Greater Tehran has a population of around 15 million. The area of the city is 574 square km. The population density here is 11,800 persons per square km. Tehran is located in the province of Tehran at the foot of the Elburz mountain range. The province is located in the north-central part of the country.

History of Tehran

Part of the territory that is today modern-day Tehran belonged to an ancient Classical era city called the Rhages. The city served as the Seljuq empire’s capital in the 11th century. However, the invasions by the Arabs, Turks, and Mongols led to its destruction. The settlement soon recovered the ravages of war and gradually expanded as Tehran. In 1786, Agha Mohammad Khan, the founder of the Qajar dynasty, selected Tehran as the capital city of his kingdom. The closeness of the city to his traditional tribal areas favored helped him take this decision. The city was also well away from the former capital cities where the elite loyals of the previous kingdoms resided. As the capital of the new kingdom, Tehran flourished in every dimension. In the following centuries, Tehran experienced several ups and downs as Iran was invaded and occupied by numerous political powers. Finally, it became the capital of the Islamic Republic of Tehran after the 1979 Revolution.

Role of Tehran as the Capital City of Iran

As the capital city of the country, Tehran houses the official residences of the country’s leaders and the government ministries and offices. The House of Leadership in Tehran serves as the Office of the Supreme Leader of Iran. The city also hosts the meeting venue of the Parliament of the country. The city is also Iran’s economic center. About 40% of Iran’s biggest industries operate in Tehran. Nearly 30% of the public-sector workforce of the nation resides in the city. Tehran also has numerous cultural attractions that draw tourists to the city from far and wide.


More in World Facts