1. Home
  2. North America
  3. Panama

Maps of Panama

Physical Map of Panama showing terrain, major mountain ranges, extreme points, islands, rivers, lakes, major cities, international boundaries, etc.

Panama is a transcontinental country covering an area of 75,417 sq. km (29,119 sq mi) from Central to South America.

As observed on the physical map of Panama, the country's landscape is dominated by forested, volcanic-in-origin, mountains that extend from its Costa Rican border to Colombia, South America. Significant ranges include the lengthy Central Mountains, as well as the San Blas, Talamanca, and Tabasara. 

The highest point in Panama is the 3,475 m (11,401 ft) tall Volcán Barú. A yellow upright triangle mars the position of the point on the map.

The sandy beach coastlines of Panama merge into forested lowlands that rise into the foothills of the inland mountain ranges. The eastern third of Panama (the Darien province) is a sparsely populated land of rain forests, rivers and swampy lowlands bordered by high mountain peaks. The Darian Gap, fronting the border with Colombia, is an inhospitable, almost impassable thick jungle. 

The northern coastline is ringed by the hundreds of small islands that form the Bocas del Torro and San Blas Archipelagos. Significant islands along the southern coastlines include the Pearl Islands (of Survivor fame), Taboga, Cebaco and Coiba. Hundreds of rivers drain the land, mostly small; significant ones include the Charges, Chepo, Chucunague, San Pablo, Santa Maria and Tuira.

Provinces of Panama Map

Panama (officially, the Republic of Panama) is divided into 10 administrative provinces (provincias, sing. provincia) and 3 indigenous regions (comarcas). In alphabetical order, the provinces are: Bocas del Toro, Chiriqui, Cocle, Colon, Darien, Herrera, Los Santos, Panama, Panama Oeste and Veraguas. Embera-Wounaan, Guna Yala and Ngobe-Bugle are the 3 indigenous regions of Panama. The provinces are further subdivided into districts and townships. Kuna de Madungandi and Kuna de Wargandi are the two indigenous comarcas within the administrative provinces which have the same status as that of a municipality (corregimiento).

Situated in the province of Panama, with a strategic position at the Pacific entrance of the Panama Canal is Panama City – the capital, the largest and the most populous city of Panama. It is also the administrative, commercial and banking hub of the country.

Where is Panama?

Map showing location of Panama in the world.

Panama is a transcontinental country – located in Central America; on the southern edge of the Isthmus of Panama (a narrow strip of land connecting the continents of North and South America). It is positioned in the Northern and Western hemispheres of the Earth. Panama is bordered by Columbia to the southeast and by Costa Rica to the west. It is bounded by the Caribbean Sea to the north and by the Pacific Ocean to the south.

Panama Bordering Countries: Costa Rica, Colombia.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Panama

The above blank map represents the Republic of Panama, a Central American nation.The map can be downloaded, printed and used for educational purposes like map-pointing activities and coloring.

The above outline map represents Panama, the southernmost country in Central America.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Panama
Flag of Panama
Capital City Panama City
8 58 N, 79 32 W
Total Area 75,420.00 km2
Land Area 74,340.00 km2
Water Area 1,080.00 km2
Population 4,246,439
Largest City

Ciudad de Panamá (Panama City) (1,860,291)

Currency Balboas (PAB)
GDP $66.80 Billion
GDP Per Capita $15,731.02

This page was last updated on February 25, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas