World Facts

Countries That Start With The Letter G

There are 11 countries that start with the letter "g".

Different countries are named according to different aspects and activities that took place in the country or after prominent features or people in the country. Alphabetically, 11 countries in the world have their names starting with letter ‘G’. These countries include:


Gabon is a sovereign state that is located on the west coast of Central Africa. The name Gabon was derived from the gabão, the Portuguese word for "cloak", which is roughly the shape of the estuary Komo River in Libreville. The capital city of Gabon is Libreville. Gabon was colonized by France and attained independence in 1960. The stability of Gabon’s economy has been highly dependent on the abundant petroleum in the country. French is the official and main language used by the Gabonese. However, the Fang language is also a common mother tongue to approximately 30% of the Gabonese. The common religions practiced in Gabon are Christianity, especially Roman Catholic, Bwiti, Islam, and Animistic.


Gambia, a West African country, is entirely surrounded by Senegal, apart from its coastline at the Atlantic Ocean. The name Gambia was coined from the Mandinka word ‘Kambaa’ which is used to refer to the Gambia River. The Gambia River passes through the center of the country and empties its water into the Atlantic Ocean. Banjul is the capital city of Gambia. The core economic activities in the country are fishing, agriculture, and tourism. Gambia was colonized by the British and attained independence in 1965.


Georgia is located in the Caucasus region of Eurasia. The capital city of Georgia is Tbilisi. Though not clear to many etymologists, the name Georgia is said to have been derived from the term gurğān, which was commonly used by the Persians to refer to the Georgians in the 11th and 12th centuries. Christianity is the dominant religion in Georgia. Georgia was conquered by Russia and made part of the Soviet Union in 1921. It joined the Soviet Union as the Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic. Georgia seceded from the Soviet Union in April 1991.


Germany is situated in the Central-Western Europe. It is a federal parliamentary republic. The capital city of Germany is Berlin. The German term for Germany is ‘Deutschland’. Julius Ceasar adopted the name Germania to refer to the people who lived on the Eastern side of the Rhine. The name Germany was, therefore, derived from the Latin word ‘Germania’. After Germany surrendered in World War II, the country was divided into two; East and West Germany. The two blocs reunited on October 3, 1990.


Ghana is located in West Africa along the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean. Ghana is a word that means ‘warrior king’ in the Soninke language. The term was used to refer to the King of the Ghanaian Empire in the Medieval Period. The country was colonized by the British. The capital city of Ghana is Accra while the official language of Ghana is English. The most dominant religion in Ghana is Christianity, practiced by approximately 70% of the Ghanaians. The remaining population practice Islam and other minority religions.


Greece is located in Southern Europe. The Greek name for Greece is Hellas. The name Greece was derived from the term ‘Graecia’, which was used by the Romans to refer to the land occupied by the Greeks. The capital city of Greece is Athens. Greece is considered to be the cradle of Western Civilization because of aspects such as literature, political science, philosophy, important aspects of mathematics such as geometry and algebra, the Olympic Games, democracy, and western drama.


Grenada is a country consisting of the Island of Grenada and six other small Islands. The islands are located in the southeastern Caribbean Sea. Grenada is also commonly referred to as the ‘Island of Spice’ due to its vast production of nutmeg and mace crop. The capital city of the country is St. George’s. Grenada has previously been a colony of both France and British. English is the official language of the country. However, Grenadian Creole English and Grenadian Creole French are the most spoken languages in the country. Christianity is the most common religion observed in the country, with approximately 44% of the citizens being Roman Catholics.


Guatemala is located in Central America. It is the most populated country in the continent. It is a representative democracy state. Guatemala was a territory of Spain from 1521 to the 1800s. The capital of Guatemala is Nueva Guatemala de la Asunción, also commonly known as Guatemala City. The name "Guatemala" comes from the Nahuatl word "Cuauhtēmallān" which means "place of many trees". To be more precise, the term refers to an area with lots of cute trees. Spanish is the official language of the country. It is spoken by approximately 93% of the people of Guatemala as either their first or second languages. Christianity is the most dominant religion in Guatemala.


Guinea was formerly known as French Guinea. It is also referred to as Guinea-Conakry in order to distinguish it from the Equatorial Guinea and Guinea Bissau. It is located on the Western coastline of Africa. It was colonized by the French and attained independence on October 2, 1958. The country is named after the Guinea region, the region in Africa that lies in the Gulf of Guinea. The English name “Guinea” was derived from a Portuguese word and was used to refer to the Africans who inhabited the Senegal River. Guinea is a republic and directly elects a president who is serves as the head of state. The economy of Guinea largely depends on mining and agricultural activities. French is the official language of the country. Islam is the most dominant religion in the country, with approximately 85% of the citizens being Muslims.


Guinea Bissau is a country in West Africa. In the 20th century, it was colonized by the Portuguese. After attaining independence in 1973, the name of the capital city, Bissau was added to the name Guinea to distinguish it from the French Guinea. Guinea-Bissau has been having a continuous on-off political instability since her independence. For this reason, no elected president has successful served a full five-year term as expected. Approximately 44% of the citizens are Muslims and 22% are Christians.


Guyana, officially known as the Co-operative Republic of Guyana, is a country located on the northern mainland of South America. Despite its location, Guyana is included in the Anglo Caribbean countries and the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) due to its political, historical, and cultural ties with the Caribbean countries. The capital city of Guyana is Georgetown. Guyana attained her independence from Britain in 1966. The name Guyana was derived from "Guiana," a term from the indigenous Amerindian language which means “land many waters.”

More in World Facts