1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Guinea-Bissau

Maps of Guinea-Bissau

Physical Map of Guinea Bissau with state boundaries. It shows the physical features of Guinea-Bissau including terrain, rivers, islands, protected areas, and major cities. Gambia large guinea bissau map Senegal Guinea Atlantic Ocean Graphic Maps worldatlas.com

Guinea-Bissau is a West African country with an area of 36,125 sq. km. As observed on the physical map of the country, it has a coastline on the Atlantic Ocean. Most of Guinea-Bissau is low-lying. The coastal plains with Guinean mangrove swamps lead to flat savanna and forests inland. Due to the flat nature of the terrain, tidal waters reach as far as 100 km inland. 

The southeastern part of the country is relatively high and dominated by the Fouta Djallon plateau with an elevation of around 180 m. From the western slopes of this plateau, Boe hills arise and extend westwards for a short distance. 

The highest point of the country is an unnamed hill at 984 ft (300 m); the lowest point of Guinea-Bissau is the Atlantic Ocean (0 m)

Corubal, Geba, and Cacheu are some of the major rivers draining Guinea-Bissau and have been marked on the map. 

Off the coast of Guinea-Bissau, is the Bijagos Archipelago. It is a group of some eighteen major islands and dozens of smaller ones that extends along the Atlantic Ocean coastline. The Orango Islands National Park is its main attraction.

Guinea-Bissau Regions Map

Guinea-Bissau has 8 regions and one autonomous sector. The regions are further subdivided into 37 sectors which are in turn made up of sections which comprise of towns, villages, localities, etc. 

The regions of the country are Bafata, Biombo, Bolama/Bijagos, Cacheu, Gabu, Oio, Quinara, and Tombali. Bissau is the autonomous sector. It is also the country's capital city. 

With an area of 9,150.0 sq. km, Gabu is the largest region of Guinea-Bissau  by area.

Where is Guinea-Bissau?

Map showing location of Guinea-Bissau in the world. Europe Middle East Africa Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer Tunisia

The West African country of Guinea-Bissau is one of the smallest in the continent. It is located in the Northern and Western Hemispheres of the Earth. Only two countries border Guinea-Bissau. Senegal bounds it to the north while its easterna and southern boundaries are with Guina. To the west, the country has a coastline on the Atlantic Ocean.

Guinea-Bissau Bordering Countries: Senegal, Guinea.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Guinea-Bissau

The blank outline map represents the West African country of Guinea-Bissau and its islands in the Atlantic Ocean. The map can be downloaded and used for educational purposes like map-pointing activities or for coloring.

The outline map represents the West African sovereign country of Guinea-Bissau with its islands in the Atlantic Ocean. The coastline of the country appears to be highly indented.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Guinea-Bissau
Flag of Guinea-Bissau
Capital City Bissau
11 51 N, 15 35 W
Total Area 36,125.00 km2
Land Area 28,120.00 km2
Water Area 8,005.00 km2
Population 1,920,922
Largest City

Bissau (664,446)

Currency Communaute Financiere Africaine francs (XOF)
GDP $1.34 Billion
GDP Per Capita $697.78

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas