1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Gabon

Maps of Gabon

Physical Map of Gabon displaying the state boundaries, terrain, important cities, extreme points, major rivers, etc. worldatlas.com worldatlas.com equatorial guinea cameroon congo congo atlantic ocean large gabon map

Gabon is easily divided into three distinct regions: a narrow coastal plain, a hilly mountainous interior, and a savanna in the far-east and south. Of note, rainforests cover nearly 85% of the country.

The coastal plains form a large section of the World Wildlife Fund's Atlantic Equatorial coastal forests ecoregion and contain patches of Central African mangroves.

As marked on the physical map of Gabon, significant mountains include the Cristal Mountains in the northeast and the central Chaillu Massif (a large mountain mass).

The country also has hundreds of caves located in the dolomite and limestone rocks formations in the east central areas.

Gabon is drained by numerous rivers; the largest is the Ogooué which is 746 miles, (1,200 km) long. The course of the river through Gabon can be observed on the map above.

The highest point of the country is Mont Iboundji at 2,534 ft. (1,575 m), and the lowest point is the Atlantic Ocean (0 m).

Gabon Provinces Map

Gabon has nine provinces which are further subdivided into 50 departments. In alphabetical order, the provinces are as follows: Estuaire, Haut-Ogooue, Moyen-Ogooue, Ngounie, Nyanga, Ogooue-Ivindo, Ogooue-Lolo, Ogooue-Maritime, and Woleu-Ntem. These provinces are further subdivided into 50 departments. With an area of 46,075 sq. km, Ogooue-Ivindo is the largest province by area and Estuaire is the most populous one. The latter hosts the national capital of Libreville.

Where is Gabon?

Map showing location of Gabon in the world. Europe Middle East Africa Angola Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer

Gabon is a country in Central Africa. It is located in the Eastern Hemisphere. As the Equator passes through Gabon, it stretches into both the Northern and Southern Hemispheres. Gabon is bordered by three countries. The Republic of the Congo borders it to the east and south. Cameroon lies to the north and Equatorial Guinea to the northwest. Gabon has a coastline on the Gulf of Guinea to the west.

Gabon Bordering Countries: The Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Gabon

The blank outline map above represents the Central African country of Gabon. The map can be downloaded, printed, and used for map-pointing or coloring activities.

The above map is of Gabon, a Central African country. 

Key Facts

Legal Name Gabonese Republic
Flag of Gabon
Capital City Libreville
0 23 N, 9 27 E
Total Area 267,667.00 km2
Land Area 257,667.00 km2
Water Area 10,000.00 km2
Population 2,172,579
Largest City

Libreville (869,773)

Currency Cooperation Financiere en Afrique Centrale francs (XAF)
GDP $16.66 Billion
GDP Per Capita $7,667.37

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas