1. Home
  2. North America
  3. El Salvador

Maps of El Salvador

Physical Map of El Salvador showing relief, major rivers and mountain ranges, important settlements, bordering countries, etc.

Covering a total area of 21,041 sq. km (8,124 sq mi), El Salvador is a small mountainous Central American country, where there are two parallel mountain ranges bordering a central plateau.

As observed on the physical map of El Salvador above, the Sierra Madre Mountains runs along the entire northern border with Honduras. In the south, the land lowers into a narrow coastal plain and a scattered chain of more than 20 volcanoes stretches across the land from west to east (some are still active, but major eruptions are rare).

Cerro El Pital – the highest point in the country, is situated on the Honduras border, at an elevation of 8,957ft (2730m). Its position has been marked on the map by an upright yellow triangle.

El Salvador, inspite of being a Central American nation has no  coastline on the Caribbean but has hundreds of small rivers. The most significant among these rivers is the Lempa River; it rises in the mountains of Guatemala, then flows eastwards crossing a part of Honduras border and then turns south through the Central Highlands and across the central plateau empties into the Pacific Ocean. A dam built on the Lempa River created the large Cerron Reservoir.  Numerous volcanic lakes cover the interior, mostly ringed by mountains. The largest among them is Lake Ilopango, sitting directly east of San Salvador – the capital city of El Salvador.

Departments of El Salvador Map

El Salvador (officially, the Republic of El Salvador) is divided into 14 departments (departamentos, sing. departamento). In alphabetical order, the departments are: Ahuachapan, Cabanas, Chalatenango, Cuscatlan, La Libertad, La Paz, La Union, Morazan, San Miguel, San Salvador, San Vicente, Santa Ana, Sonsonate and Usulutan. These departments are further subdivided into 262 municipalities (municipios).

Covering a total area of 21,041 sq. km, El Salvador is the smallest country in Central America. It is also the most densely populated Central American nation. Located in the Valley of the Hammocks, on the Ace Chaute River is, San Salvador – the capital, the largest and the most populous city of El Salvador. It is also the administrative, cultural, educational, economic and financial hub of the country.

Where is El Salvador?

Map showing location of El Salvador in the world.

El Salvador is a small mountainous Central American nation. It is positioned in the Northern and Western hemispheres of the Earth. It is bordered by Honduras to the northeast; Guatemala to the northwest and by the Pacific Ocean to the south. Since El Salvador mostly occupies the western side of the isthmus; it is the only Central American nation without a coast on the Caribbean.

El Salvador Bordering Countries: Guatemala, Honduras.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of El Salvador

The above blank map represents the Republic of El Salvador, a Central American nation. The map can be downloaded, printed and used for educational purposes. 

The above outline map represents El Salvador, the smallest country in Central America.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of El Salvador
Flag of El Salvador
Capital City San Salvador
13 42 N, 89 12 W
Total Area 21,041.00 km2
Land Area 20,721.00 km2
Water Area 320.00 km2
Population 6,453,553
Largest City

San Salvador (1,105,766)

Currency US Dollar (USD)
GDP $27.02 Billion
GDP Per Capita $4,187.25

This page was last updated on February 25, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas