1. Home
  2. North America
  3. United States
  4. Kentucky

Maps of Kentucky

Physical Map of Kentucky. It shows the physical features of Kentucky including its mountain ranges, rivers and major lakes.

Covering an area of 104,656 sq. km, the State of Kentucky is located in the East-South-Central region of the Southern United States.

As observed on the map, the Cumberland (or Appalachian) Plateau dominates the eastern third of Kentucky. The Plateau region is a heavily forested area of hills and mountains, that also contains the Big Black Mountain - the state's highest point. Situated on the state’s border with Virginia, it rises to an elevation of 4,145ft (1,263m).

Located at the heart of Kentucky is a series of rolling hills and meadows, referred to as the Bluegrass Region. The region gets its colorful name from bluegrass - the common name for lawn and pasture grass (Poa pratensis) in parts of the eastern United States. The northwestern part of the state is a hilly land bordered by the Ohio River. Due to large coal deposits, the area is often referred to as the Western Coal Field. Located in the west-central part of Kentucky, the Mammoth Cave area is the world's longest cave system and also a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The state's waterways are dominated by the massive Ohio River, which forms its entire northern border; as well as by the Cumberland and Tennessee River systems, and their many spin-off lakes. Other significant rivers include the Salt, Green, Licking, Big Sandy, Kentucky, Cumberland, Tennessee, and the Mississippi River. The southwestern corner of the state includes the swampy lowlands of the Mississippi River flood plain and the state’s lowest point, at an elevation of 257ft. This area was purchased from the Chickasaw Indians in 1818, and has been named after Andrew Jackson as “the Jackson Purchase”.

Bordered by Lake Barkley and Kentucky Lake is a hilly, forested area spanning about 170,000 acres and is referred to as the “Land Between the Lakes” recreational area.

In the extreme southwestern corner of the state is the Kentucky Bend. Covering a land area of 45.2 sq. km, it was created due to the shift in course of the Mississippi River, after the New Madrid Earthquakes in 1811 and 1812.

Counties Map

The State of Kentucky is divided into 120 counties. In alphabetical order, these counties are: Adair, Allen, Anderson, Ballard, Barren, Bath, Bell, Boone, Bourbon, Boyd, Boyle, Bracken, Breathitt, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Campbell, Carlisle, Carroll, Carter, Casey, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Daviess, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Garrard, Grant, Graves, Grayson, Green, Greenup, Hancock, Hardin, Harlan, Harrison, Hart, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Hopkins, Jackson, Jefferson, Jessamine, Johnson, Kenton, Knott, Knox, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Marshall, Martin, Mason, McCracken, McCreary, McLean, Meade, Menifee, Mercer, Metcalfe, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Nicholas, Ohio, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Scott, Shelby, Simpson, Spencer, Taylor, Todd, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Whitley, Wolfe, and Woodford.

With an area of 104,656 sq. km, Kentucky is the 37th largest and the 26th most populous state in the USA. Located along the Kentucky River is Frankfort – the capital city of Kentucky. It serves as the major trading center of the state’s Bluegrass region. Situated in the southeastern part of the state is Louisville – the largest city of Kentucky and also the 29th most populous city in the USA. It serves as the principal regional manufacturing center and hosts several companies and organizations of various industries. Louisville is the state’s chief industrial city that also supports a thriving shipping industry.

Where is Kentucky?

Map showing location of Kentucky in the world.

The State of Kentucky is located in the East-South-Central region of the Southern United States. The landlocked state of Kentucky is bordered by the states of Virginia in the east; by West Virginia in the northeast; by Tennessee in the south; by Missouri in the west; by Illinois in the northwest, and by Indiana and Ohio in the north.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Kentucky

The above blank map represents the State of Kentucky, located in the East-South-Central region of the Southern United States. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities. 

The above outline map represents the State of Kentucky, located in the East-South-Central region of the Southern United States.

Key Facts

Legal Name State of Kentucky
ISO 3166 Code US-KY
Capital City Frankfort
Major Cities
  1. Louisville (1,089,499)
  2. Lexington-Fayette (333,999)

This page was last updated on January 9, 2022

Latest by WorldAtlas