an update....

The worldwide standard for coordinated universal time, formerly known as GMT (Greenwich Mean Time), is now abbreviated as UTC (Coordinated Universal Time).

Some sources still refer to it as UTC/GMT and some web browsers, e.g. Mozilla Firefox, still display it as GMT.

The UTC Time (shown directly below) is the standard time zone upon which all other worldwide time zones are based. It never observes daylight saving time.

UTC at Greenwich, England

Current Dates and Times

across the Middle East....

The countries of Southeast Asia do not observe Daylight Saving Time and remain on Standard Time throughout the year.

China uses one time zone, east to west. Indonesia stretches across three time zones, including:

WIB (Western Indonesian Time)

WITA (Central Indonesian Time)

WIT (Eastern Indonesian Time)

Additional details on worldwide timezones

international dateline time zone map
- match the time bar color to the map color -
print this map

+ 5 hours from UTC

+ 5.5 hours from UTC
Andaman/Nicobar, India,
Sri Lanka

+ 5.75 hours from UTC

+ 6 hours from UTC
Bangladesh, Bhutan, British Indian Ocean Territory

+ 6.5 hours from UTC
Myanmar (Burma)

+ 7 hours from UTC
Cambodia, Laos, Western Indonesia, Thailand and Vietnam

+ 8 hours from UTC
Brunei, Central Indonesia, China, Hong Kong, Macau, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan

+ 9 hours from UTC
Eastern Indonesia, East Timor, Japan, North Korea, South Korea