1. Home
  2. Asia
  3. Bhutan

Maps of Bhutan

Physical Map of the Kingdom of Bhutan showing relief, the Himalayan range, major rivers, bordering countries, highest and lowest points, and more. Bhutan map, Bhutan land information

The Kingdom of Bhutan covers an area of 38,394 sq. km at the eastern limits of the Himalayas. The length of the country is only slightly larger than the width giving it a compact shape. 

As observed on the physical map of Bhutan above, the country is highly mountainous. Here several peaks of the Himalayas reach as high 7,000 m along the country's northern border with China. The tallest point in the country (as marked on the map by a yellow upright triangle) is the Kula Kangri. However, there is a lot of dispute regarding the location of this peak as some authorities claim it is part of Tibet. Instead, the 7,570 metres (24,840 ft) tall Gangkhar Puensum is often regarded as Bhutan's tallest peak. The latter is the world's tallest unclimbed mountain. 

The central parts of Bhutan feature the mountains of the lesser or the lower Himalayas.

Along its southern border with India, the Himalayan foothills and associated lowland areas are found. Large parts here are forested. 

The lowest point in Bhutan at 97 m (318 ft) above sea level is located in the Drangme Chhu river system.

The lowest point is located in the Drangme Chhu, a river system in central and eastern Bhutan, at 97 m (318 ft) above sea level.

Numerous small rivers drain the land, including the Dangme, Mangde, Sankosh and Torsa. 

Districts of Bhutan Map

Political Map of Bhutan showing the 20 districts of the country, their capitals, and the national capital of Thimpu.

Bhutan (officially, The Kingdom of Bhutan) is divided into 20 districts (dzongkhags). In alphabetical order, these districts are: Bumthang, Chhukha, Dagana, Gasa, Haa, Lhuentse, Mongar, Paro, Pemagatshel, Punakha, Samdrup Jongkhar, Samtse, Sarpang, Thimphu, Trashigang, Trashi Yangtse, Trongsa, Tsirang, Wangdue Phodrang and Zhemgang. 

With a population of around 754,388, Bhutan is the second-least populated nation in South Asia. Located in the west-central part of the country, surrounding the Thimphu River Valley is Thimphu city – the capital and the largest city of Bhutan. Situated at an altitude of 2,320m, Thimphu is the 5th highest capital in the world. Thimphu also serves as the administrative and economic center of Bhutan. Phuntsholing – located in the southern part of the country, near the India-Bhutan border, serves as the financial center of Bhutan. 

Where is Bhutan?

Map showing location of Bhutan in the world. arctic ocean pacific ocean indian ocean australia oceania tropic of capricorn tropic of cancer arctic circle equator africa europe black sea caspian aral sea red sea gulf of aden bay of bengal arabian sea middle east mediterranean sea asia

Bhutan is a small landlocked country situated in Southern Asia, on the southern slopes of the Eastern Himalayas. It is located both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Bhutan is bordered by two Asian nations: The Tibet Autonomous Region (China) to the north; the Chumbi valley of Tibet and the Indian states of Sikkim and West Bengal in the west; along with the Indian states of West Bengal and Assam in the south; and Arunachal Pradesh in the east. 

Bhutan Bordering Countries: India, China.

Regional Maps: Map of Asia

Outline Map of Bhutan

Blank Outline Map of Bhutan

The above map represents Bhutan, a small landlocked country situated in Southern Asia, on the southern slopes of the Eastern Himalayas. It is a very compact nation with the length being only slightly larger than the width. The map may be downloaded, printed, and used for education purpose.

Outline Map of Bhutan

The outline map represents the small Himalayan Kingdom of Bhutan located to the north of the Indian subcontinent. 

Key Facts

Legal Name Kingdom of Bhutan
Capital City Thimphu
27 28 N, 89 38 E
Independence 17 December 1907 (became a unified kingdom under its first hereditary king); 8 August 1949 (Treaty of Friendship with India maintains Bhutanese independence)


Total Area 38,394.00 km2
Land Area 38,394.00 km2
Water Area 0.00 km2
Total Border 1,136.0 km
Coastline 0.0 km
Bordering Countries China 477 km, India 659 km
Climate Varies; tropical in southern plains; cool winters and hot summers in central valleys; severe winters and cool summers in himalayas
Coordinates 27 30 N, 90 30 E
Mean Elevation 2,220 m
Lowest Elevation 97 m
Drangeme Chhu
Highest Elevation 7,570 m
Gangkar Puensum


Population 763,092
Ethnic Groups Ngalop (also known as Bhote) 50%, ethnic Nepali 35% (predominantly Lhotshampas), indigenous or migrant tribes 15%
Languages Sharchhopka 28%, Dzongkha (official) 24%, Lhotshamkha 22%, other 26% (includes foreign languages) (2005 est.)
Religions Lamaistic Buddhist 75.3%, Indian- and Nepali-influenced Hinduism 22.1%, other 2.6% (2005 est.)


Currency ngultrum (BTN)
GDP $2.45 Billion
GDP Per Capita $3,243.23
Exports Electricity (to india), ferrosilicon, cement, cardamom, calcium carbide, steel rods/bars, dolomite, gypsum

This page was last updated on November 9, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas