1. Home
  2. Asia
  3. Nepal

Maps of Nepal

Physical Map of Nepal showing state boundaries, relief, Mount Everest, major rivers, important cities, extreme points, and national parks.

With an area of 147,516 sq. km, Nepal is a small nation in South Asia. Despite its size, however, Nepal is extensively diverse in terms of topography as observed on the physical map of the country above. 

Mountains and rugged hills cover almost 75% of Nepal's land area. 

The elevation of land here rises from as low as only 59 m (194 ft) in the Tarai region to the snow-lined peaks in the north where 90 peaks are over 7,000 m (22,966 ft) in elevation. The world's tallest peak, the 8,848 m or 29,029 ft Mount Everest is also located here. The peak has been marked on the map above by a yellow upright triangle.

The Tarai Region (in the south) along the border with India, is a low stretch of land, containing Nepal's lowest point: Kanchan Kalan at 229 ft. (70 m). This area is Nepal's most significant agricultural region. Parts of it are also heavily forested and features a great diversity of wildlife.

The country also has an abundance of rivers starting from the glaciers in the mountains and flowing through it to the south. Some of the important rivers marked on the map are the Kail, Karnali, Kosi, and Narayani rivers.

Provinces Map of Nepal

Political Map of Nepal showing its 7 administrative provinces.

Nepal (officially, the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal) is divided into 7 administrative provinces. These provinces are: Province no. 1, Province no. 2, Province no. 3 (Bagmati Pradesh), Province no. 5, Gandaki Pradesh, Karnali Pradesh and Sudurpashchim Pradesh. These provinces are divided into districts which are further subdivided into smaller subdivisions – municipalities and rural municipalities. 

Kathmandu (“The City of Temples”) is the capital of Nepal.  It is located in the north western part of the Kathmandu valley to the north of the Bagmati River. Kathmandu is the largest and populous metropolitan city and the center of history, culture and economy of Nepal. It is a home to a number of World heritage sites and often referred to as the “Gateway of Nepal Himalayas”. 

Where is Nepal?

Map showing location of Nepal in the world. arctic ocean pacific ocean indian ocean australia oceania tropic of capricorn tropic of cancer arctic circle equator africa europe black sea caspian aral sea red sea gulf of aden bay of bengal arabian sea middle east mediterranean sea asia

Nepal is a landlocked sovereign nation, strategically located between China and India. Nepal is located in Southern Asia in the Northern and eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Nepal shares its borders with the Indian States of Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal and Sikkim in the south, east and west; while it is bordered by China in the north. Nepal is separated from Bhutan by Sikkim. At the south eastern edge of Nepal, lies the independent nation of Bangladesh. Nepal contains 8 of the world’s 10 highest mountain peaks including, Mount Everest and Kanchenjunga. 

Nepal Bordering Countries: India, China.

Regional Maps: Map of Asia

Outline Map of Nepal

Blank Outline Map of Nepal

The above map represents Nepal, a Himalayan nation in the Indian subcontinent. The mountain chains of the Himalayan range run west-east through the country. The map can be downloaded, printed, and used for coloring or educational purpose like map-pointing activities.

Outline Map of Nepal

Located in the Himalayan mountain region of the Indian subcontinent, Nepal is a mountainous country with picturesque landscapes. The above map represents Neapl.

Key Facts

Legal Name Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
Capital City Kathmandu
27 43 N, 85 19 E
Independence 1768 (unified by Prithvi Narayan SHAH)


Total Area 147,181.00 km2
Land Area 143,351.00 km2
Water Area 3,830.00 km2
Total Border 3,159.0 km
Coastline 0.0 km
Bordering Countries China 1389 km, India 1770 km
Climate Varies from cool summers and severe winters in north to subtropical summers and mild winters in south
Coordinates 28 00 N, 84 00 E
Mean Elevation 2,565 m
Lowest Elevation 70 m
Kanchan Kalan
Highest Elevation 8,848 m
Mount Everest (highest peak in Asia and highest point on earth above sea level)


Population 28,608,710
Major Cities
  1. Kathmandu (1,423,515)
  2. Pokhara (420,735)
Ethnic Groups Chhettri 16.6%, Brahman-Hill 12.2%, Magar 7.1%, Tharu 6.6%, Tamang 5.8%, Newar 5%, Kami 4.8%, Muslim 4.4%, Yadav 4%, Rai 2.3%, Gurung 2%, Damai/Dholii 1.8%, Thakuri 1.6%, Limbu 1.5%, Sarki 1.4%, Teli 1.4%, Chamar/Harijan/Ram 1.3%, Koiri/Kushwaha 1.2%, other 19% (2011 est.)
Languages Nepali (official) 44.6%, Maithali 11.7%, Bhojpuri 6%, Tharu 5.8%, Tamang 5.1%, Newar 3.2%, Bajjika 3%, Magar 3%, Doteli 3%, Urdu 2.6%, Avadhi 1.9%, Limbu 1.3%, Gurung 1.2%, Baitadeli 1%, other 6.4%, unspecified 0.2% (2011 est.)
Religions Hindu 81.3%, Buddhist 9%, Muslim 4.4%, Kirant 3.1%, Christian 1.4%, other 0.5%, unspecified 0.2% (2011 est.)


Currency Nepalese rupees (NPR)
GDP $30.64 Billion
GDP Per Capita $1,071.05
Exports Clothing, pulses, carpets, textiles, juice, jute goods

This page was last updated on November 9, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas